RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

340 Users Online (151 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Enscape / Lumion

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jan 13, 2016 at 3:17:17 PM | Enscape / Lumion

#1

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


My company is looking into doing more walkthroughs/flythroughs.  We did one in Revit just for an example and we are going to end up with close to 1,000 rendering hours for 3 minutes worth of video.  We are looking into Lumion as that seems to be the best option that I have seen out there and has gotten great reviews, however I just can across a program called Enscape, has anyone used this program.  It's an add-in for Revit and looks pretty nice so looking to get some feedback.  Thanks!


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 13, 2016 at 3:29:06 PM | Enscape / Lumion

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


If it really does a good job, at $500/seat license, that's inexpensive.  But heck - buy it for a couple of month's at $45/mo and check it out! They have a free trial.

 

I don't think it will come close to Lumion.  I suspect it really is mostly native Revit.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 14, 2016 at 7:46:16 PM | Enscape / Lumion

#3

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


I have the trial right now.  The problem I'm having is our computers are pretty much the bare minimum to run Revit so it's not running either well so I need to talk to management into upgrading our computers if they want to do stuff like this.  I agree with you though, I think Lumion will still be ahead quite a bit but for the price it may be "good enough"  Thanks!


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 15, 2016 at 12:35:53 AM | Enscape / Lumion

#4

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 22 Votes


If you're looking for some feedback, there is an extensive discussion about the encsape on revitforum.org, including the guy from the factory.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 15, 2016 at 4:44:08 PM | Enscape / Lumion

#5

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


It looks like this product is still in it's infancy stage and working out kinks yet.  Might be better of holding out for a bit until they really get up and running.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 15, 2016 at 5:29:09 PM | Enscape / Lumion

#6

EnscapeJohn


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 15, 2016
0 Posts
No Rating


Hey, John here; I'm director of support with Enscape.

It's true, Enscape is new, but already very cutting-edge; great firms like Foster and KPF have been getting very sleek results with it. Smile  If you want to see more, I'll be happy to show you a demo of what Enscape has in store. Just email me or let us know on our website enscape3d.com

 


This user is offline

View Website

Sat, May 21, 2016 at 3:42:03 PM | Enscape / Lumion

#7

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


I use it everyday within our multi-discplinary UK based design firm. Its the dog's boll*cks. Nothing does anywhere near what it can do.I don't render anymore, I just screen capture from Enscape.

Revit is great for 3D modelling but once you start to enclose space and things become hidden, it takes quite a few steps using section boxes and camera views to get into them. The greatest thing about Enscape is that it finally allows Revit users to get inside their 3D models in realtime.I use Enscape with federated project models to perform visual clash detection. Its far batter than working with IFC/Navisworks clash detection tools.

I use it to test shadows and sun penetration.

I use it to present our models to clients, the design team and in-house staff.

You can export the fully rendered 3D model that Enscape creates live from your 3D Revit model and create a standalone executable file (*.exe). You can then give this to your clients or staff and they can open and walk or fly around the 3D model at their leisure with no need for a Revit license or an Enscape license ( free!)

You can even use it now with Oculus Rift.

It blows everything away.

There are disadvantages though:

It is VERY demanding on your GPU. Ideally you need a GPU that Enscape recommends and at least 2GB to be able navigate the rendered model without too much lag. Most people have nothing near the GPU power needed to run it.The stand-alone executables are an exe file which I find many people cannot run as they need their IT department to enable it to execute.I am pushing to expand our licensing to get a few server licenses so all staff can use it. It is quite overpriced though for an addin for Revit which is a big showstopper for many.


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 4, 2017 at 3:29:27 PM | EnscapeJohn

#8

oneworld279


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 2, 2013
24 Posts
No Rating


Quoting EnscapeJohn from 2016-01-15 11:29:09

Hey, John here; I'm director of support with Enscape.

It's true, Enscape is new, but already very cutting-edge; great firms like Foster and KPF have been getting very sleek results with it. Smile  If you want to see more, I'll be happy to show you a demo of what Enscape has in store. Just email me or let us know on our website enscape3d.com

 

"

Hi John, Quick Q. I tried enscape for 14 days and pretty much ready to the pull the trigger. We do interiors, hospitality etc. and cove lights are everywhere in our designs. I tried to get the cove lights rendered correctly with Enscape but somehow the dispersion in not as good (say default revit render) is there is method to do this? I used a strip light fixture arrayed in square or rectangular ceilings, how can I acheive the cove light effect?

Edited on: Tue, Apr 4, 2017 at 10:30:17 AM



Edited on: Tue, Apr 4, 2017 at 2:03:05 PM

-----------------------------------

In Solidarity

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Lumion 4 Sneak Peek

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Mon, Oct 14, 2013 at 5:46:51 PM

0

lumion graphics card use

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Dec 2, 2014 at 8:03:22 AM

4

Revit to Lumion

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 27, 2014 at 8:46:16 PM

1

Revit to Lumion

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 2, 2016 at 11:07:59 PM

1

Revit to Lumion

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 7:17:56 PM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1531244

Objects:

21318

Forum Posts:

151315

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0311

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights