RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

163 Users Online (50 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Another probably dumb question: Temporary Dimension

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jan 7, 2016 at 4:37:01 PM | Another probably dumb question:

#1

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


When I zoom in and click on a line the orange dimension always occurs on the other end of the line.  I zoom out, zoom in to see the dimension to change it to what I want, do so, stay there and click on it again, and the orange dimension does not occur there, it shows up on the end that I started on.  Does Revit just dislike me and likes to irritate me or is there some setting that I am too ignorant to know about?


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 7, 2016 at 4:55:47 PM | Another probably dumb question:

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Sorry - Temporary dimension locations are dependent on the orginal objects start location (I think).   

 

I tell users here to quit zooming in!  In most cases, you can pick the correct dimension by tabbing if multiple dimensions are very close.  

 

You can also scroll in at the dimension location end while having the object selected.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 7, 2016 at 5:05:57 PM | Another probably dumb question:

#3

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Any idea why, after you zoom in to the orange dimension, set it at what you want then select that line again in the same view and the temporary dimension isn't there anymore, it is now at the other end of that selected line?  Why do they do that?  I know Autodesk doesn't really care about the actual user's needs, only really caring about getting more ways to force more people to use their software, but this borders on outright hostility.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 7, 2016 at 5:17:12 PM | Another probably dumb question: Temporary Dimension

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


I don't believe it is as simple as you think it is.   Revit keeps some internal data about object locations based on proximity and what is there when the object is placed.   I think that Revit's temporary dimensions use this easily available data rather than finding and selecting from all the other potential dimensions.  << It would be very hard for Revit to guess at what dimension you want.  

 

BUT THERE IS A SOLUTION TO YOUR PROBLEM BUILT INTO REVIT.   Drag the temporary dimension node to where you want it.  The next time you pick that object, that temporary dimension will be where you want it.  In other words, you have now told Revit what you want rather than it's guessing.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 7, 2016 at 5:30:25 PM | Thanks for your very patient and thorough response.....

#5

Hogmodo


active
Hogmodo Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 6, 2004
367 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


...........it really is appreciated.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Temporary Dimension Property Question

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 11, 2015 at 2:04:51 PM

4

temporary dimensions

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 1, 2009 at 3:50:50 PM

1

Super newb question: wall join and temporary dimension

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Apr 22, 2015 at 2:30:09 PM

6

Probably a dumb question but...........................

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 23, 2007 at 4:31:51 PM

3

Reference Plane Dimension

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Aug 21, 2005 at 12:33:46 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1769686

Objects:

22437

Forum Posts:

151906

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3682

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights