RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

216 Users Online (95 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Material Editor Lost/Rendering Broken

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Oct 27, 2015 at 3:18:23 PM | Material Editor Lost/Rendering Broken

#1

RockFish


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 23, 2012
20 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Using Revit 2016

 

I’m not really sure where to start, so I guess I will start at the beginning.  I had a file I did some renderings out of previously.  When I opened today and tried to render again, I kept getting instantaneous renders of a black screen. I messed around with some settings, did exterior renders (with sun) and nothing works.  The same thing happens when I use Raytrace.  I then noticed that the material images were no longer on my materials when viewed as Realistic.  I tried to pull up the materials editor to see where it was looking for the material images but the material editor box does not pop up when I use either my quick keys, button or try to access it through, say wall types.  So I restarted my computer and now the Render button is greyed out, Raytrace no longer even shows up in graphic displays and the materials window still does not show up. Heeelp!!!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2015 at 3:24:01 PM | Material Editor Lost/Rendering Broken

#2

RockFish


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 23, 2012
20 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Update, opened Revit 2015 and it looks like the same thing is happening there as well.  What is going on? Did Revits material editor file get moved or something like that?  Is there a shared folder somewhere I should check?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2015 at 3:39:26 PM | Material Editor Lost/Rendering Broken

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


The file used by Revit is not accessible through Revit.   It is part of the install.  If it got moved or deleted, someone did that through your file management - not Revit.

 

It could be that your program has become corrupted but the fact that both 2015 and 2016 says something else happed.   The material files are in different locations typically for each install.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2015 at 3:44:54 PM | Material Editor Lost/Rendering Broken

#4

RockFish


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 23, 2012
20 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Any thoughts on where I would even start to look for a fix?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2015 at 3:46:38 PM | Material Editor Lost/Rendering Broken

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Instead of messing around with renderings, why not simply edit a wall family and see how the material editor works there?   If everything is ok, then your looking at the wrong problem.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2015 at 3:57:48 PM | Material Editor Lost/Rendering Broken

#6

RockFish


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 23, 2012
20 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


I can't do either. I cannot access my materials editor no matter what I do.  Say I select a wall type, select edit properties, select edit structure, pick a layer and select the ... after the current material name in the materials column, my material editor does not pop up.  This makes it impossible to select a new material to edit the structure of a wall type.  I think the rendering thing is a symptom of there not being any materials to render from...?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2015 at 4:08:50 PM | Material Editor Lost/Rendering Broken

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


I still have a feeling that this may be a video card issue. 

 

Are you the only user on your computer?

Are you on a network?

Who installed Revit?  You or IT?

Typically, we install materials locally and families on the network. 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2015 at 4:14:27 PM | Material Editor Lost/Rendering Broken

#8

RockFish


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 23, 2012
20 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Are you the only user on your computer? -Yes

Are you on a network? -No

Who installed Revit?  You or IT? -IT, I am my own IT.  I'm an office of one.

Typically, we install materials locally and families on the network.

 

I dont' know if I disagree with you on the video card thing, but not sure how to check that either (nor does my IT department).


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2015 at 5:52:36 PM | Material Editor Lost/Rendering Broken

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


SO since you are managing your system, I doubt that you deleted any files from your installation.

What I don't understand is if this worked before then why a problem now? 

Did you install anything new?  Was this render working under 2016 before?

No hardware changes? 

 

I don't know what folder Revit installs what in because it changes with almost every install.

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2015 at 5:59:36 PM | Material Editor Lost/Rendering Broken

#10

RockFish


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 23, 2012
20 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


I installed a new antivirus update this morning (AVG) and an Intuos digital drawing pad probalby since I was last aware that this worked.  So the files that worked before were in 2016.  I just had some edits to do and re-render and that is when I noticed all of this.  I have even unistalled and reinstalled Revit 2016 and the problem still persists.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2015 at 6:18:16 PM | Material Editor Lost/Rendering Broken

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Maybe a dll problem.   Probably the digital drawing pad was the culprit but even the anti-virus could be a problem.  Do you have a system backup to restore to previous?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Material Editor

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 5, 2004 at 5:58:34 AM

1

Material Editor 2013 w/ Update Release 2

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 2, 2014 at 2:28:04 PM

9

RevitCity Website is Broken.

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Mar 9, 2016 at 1:02:07 PM

4

Rendering Problem.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 9, 2008 at 10:10:57 PM

3

Lost rendering capabilites? (Revit 2010)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 10, 2009 at 3:20:14 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1778656

Objects:

22475

Forum Posts:

151938

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4896

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights