RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

244 Users Online (97 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Convert central file to another template, Revit 2016

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Oct 26, 2015 at 1:45:58 PM | Convert central file to another template, Revit 2016

#1

BundFang


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 26, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi

We are working on a project at school, where we use workset and a central file, so we all 4 can work on the same project. Unfortunately the wrong template was used, when the central file was made. Is there a way to transfer the central file to another template without loosing all our work?

 

Best regards

Jens


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 26, 2015 at 2:22:08 PM | Convert central file to another template, Revit 2016

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


You can not in essance 'reload' a template.   If this is what you really need, you will have to use transfer project standards to get what you need out of the correct template.  Depending on your templates, this may not be an easy process.

 

Before discussing that furthur - where are you in your project?  If we are basically talking model, then there is a better answer.   In this process, you

  1. create a new project with the correct template
  2. Link in your project
  3. in the new project, copy/monitor all levels and grids from the link
  4. Bind in the link
  5. Explode the resultant group
  6. Delete the group.

Now you have all levels, grids and model elements in your new project but all annotative elements, line standards, families (except imported) will be per your template.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 27, 2015 at 8:20:09 AM | WWHub

#3

BundFang


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 26, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting WWHub from 2015-10-26 09:22:08

"

You can not in essance 'reload' a template.   If this is what you really need, you will have to use transfer project standards to get what you need out of the correct template.  Depending on your templates, this may not be an easy process.

 

Before discussing that furthur - where are you in your project?  If we are basically talking model, then there is a better answer.   In this process, you

  1. create a new project with the correct template
  2. Link in your project
  3. in the new project, copy/monitor all levels and grids from the link
  4. Bind in the link
  5. Explode the resultant group
  6. Delete the group.

Now you have all levels, grids and model elements in your new project but all annotative elements, line standards, families (except imported) will be per your template.

"

Thank you very much. Fortunately we are not that far in our project, so we have deceided that the most easy solution is to start over.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 2, 2016 at 8:06:13 PM | Convert central file to another template, Revit 2016

#4

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


hey I didn't want to creat a new thread, here is my question.

How do I create a template file, from a project that used work sharing. It has been quite a task w a lot of dead ends.  I am not sure what I am missing.

 

 


-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 2, 2016 at 8:09:01 PM | Convert central file to another template, Revit 2016

#5

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=6196

looking at this thread now, hopefully that is my answer, after quick reading it makes sense.


-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 2, 2016 at 11:11:06 PM | Convert central file to another template, Revit 2016

#6

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I can't see why the template would be enough cause to start your whole project over again. Unless you had a unit issue between metric and imperial. Otherwise you probably could get most everything you need from theprocedure that WWHub outlined. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Template

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 12, 2007 at 10:11:01 PM

1

Template won't allow "make a central file"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 23, 2008 at 7:07:08 PM

1

how to convert a template to project file in 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 2, 2013 at 7:58:22 AM

10

CONVERT RHINO TO REVIT

Community >> The Studio

Thu, Feb 13, 2020 at 11:10:11 AM

7

Autocad Template file to title block

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 16, 2006 at 6:02:50 AM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1651409

Objects:

22098

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.0112

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights