RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

222 Users Online (80 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Oct 14, 2015 at 9:29:16 PM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

#1

jdecker003


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 10, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi, I'm experiencing some difficulty when printing. I have solid-fill Fill Regions which are set to transparent (Image 01), but when I print, they show up as Opaque (Image 02).

I've tried setting them to opaque and adjusting the transparency with a graphic override, but it prints the same way.

There are only two sheets that are doing this - the other sheets are printing fine (Transparent Filled Regions printing as transparent).

This is the third project I've had do this and have not been able to figure out a solution. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks



Attached Images

141930_Filled_Region_Issue_01.JPG141930_Filled_Region_Issue_02.JPG

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2015 at 10:42:09 AM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


It may be your printer driver - I would check that first.

I have seen sheets become corrupted. Print the view not on the sheet.   If it prints fine then delete the sheet and put your views back on.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2015 at 2:44:42 PM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

#3

jdecker003


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 10, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


The problem occurs when I print to both PDF and our regular printer. I'm not sure how to check the printer driver.

Printing just the view, and not the sheet, results in the same problem.

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2015 at 2:54:46 PM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


This is not a normal Revit issue 99% of the time it is a user error.

You show us a view and imply that the filled region is there and is on.  Maybe not. 

  • If an item is hidden by using the glasses, it will show when printed.
  • Make sure the filled region is really transparent.

Edit the filled region limits so it only covers part of the view, then print and show us the image.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2015 at 3:11:03 PM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

#5

jdecker003


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 10, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


I edited the Filled Region element, per your request.

I can confirm that the only elements hidden in the view are: dimensions, grid lines, elevation markers, and the surrounding site.

I can also confirm that the Filled Region is set to Transparent.

Thanks



Attached Images

141947_Filled_Region_Issue_03.JPG

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2015 at 6:07:03 PM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


I should have said show us an image of the view on your system.   I want to verify the pattern is transparent in your view.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2015 at 7:26:43 PM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

#7

jdecker003


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 10, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Here is the view in the program. As you can see, the Filled Region pattern is set to Transparent.



Attached Images

141953_Filled_Region_Issue_04.JPG

This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 15, 2015 at 8:46:34 PM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


Sorry but this must be something in your system.  Is there a way to print this from another computer?

 

Have you ever audited your file?

Is this what Revit? .... Again, as I said earlier, chack your printer driver!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 19, 2016 at 9:55:29 PM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

Thread Post Kudo! Thread Post Kudo! #9

Leeunit16


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


We just had this same exact problem in our office.

 

Turns out it was because the view was set to Wireframe instead of hiddenline.  As soon as we changed it to hidden line it woked perfectly.

 

I know its a few months late, but hope this helps!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 19, 2016 at 10:03:14 PM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


Wireframe would not be the problem since their transparent, filled region was printing opaque - not transparent.   If the problem had been the other way, then your answer may have been correct.  

 

Still good that you posted.   There are so many possibilities with these sorts of problems and someone can still learn from your post.

 

I have a feeling that either their view was corrupted or thinking again - they may have had two filled regions in the same location with one being opaque.   It is really hard to discover user error without having the file.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 19, 2016 at 10:24:12 PM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

Thread Post Kudo! #11

Leeunit16


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Our transparent, filled region was printing opaque - not transparent as well, as soon as we switched from wireframe the transparent filled region printed transparent as it should.  I'm sure there are 1000's of other reasons, I posted with the high hope that this could help anyone viewing the thread like I did before we figured it out! 

I'm posting this because per jdecker003's description and images, our problem was indeed identical.  I don't know if the solution is identical (probably not) but hopefully there will be someone viewing this thread who does have a identical problem and hopefull the solution that worked for us will work for them!

Thanks for the feedback!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 15, 2016 at 2:39:42 AM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

#12

slowarch


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 23, 2013
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I have had a similar problem in Revit Arch 2016 and will post here in case anyone else stumbles across this thread looking for solutions.

I had a filter applying 100% transparency to certain elements, when turned on this caused a transparent fill to appear as opaque.  Problem solved as soon as I removed the transparency from the filter.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 4, 2016 at 12:35:32 PM | Leeunit16

#13

deniser1


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 5, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting Leeunit16 from 2016-01-19 15:55:29

"

We just had this same exact problem in our office.

 

Turns out it was because the view was set to Wireframe instead of hiddenline.  As soon as we changed it to hidden line it woked perfectly.

 

I know its a few months late, but hope this helps!

"

Thank you so much for this.  I had been scratching my head over this one after picking up a project that I had not initiated.  You have just saved me hours of trying to figure it out.  Such a simple explanation.


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 31, 2017 at 3:51:07 PM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

#14

tarahdb


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 10, 2008
19 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Leeunit16 (and all) - thank you so much for posting!  I just had the exact same problem and switching my view from wireframe to hidden line solved it!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 7, 2017 at 3:58:25 AM | Fill Region set to Transparent but printing Opaque

Thread Post Kudo! #15

raja15


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 21, 2011
84 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


We've had this issue in our office a few times, and while all our views are set to "Hidden Line" by default, the way we worked around it wa, in the printer settings, changing it from Vector to Raster.

 

Obviously not the ideal situation when creating a .pdf, but for some reason the output behaved differently when printing using Raster. Maybe less to generate? Not sure.

 

Hope this also helps anyone stumbling across this forum.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2009 Filled region set to transparent, but is not acting transparent

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 24, 2008 at 6:40:28 PM

1

Problem with opaque text showing transparent

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 24, 2014 at 3:20:10 PM

1

Opaque background on symbols

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Feb 3, 2016 at 4:25:14 PM

3

transparent filled region not showing up over stairs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 12, 2014 at 8:39:41 PM

3

Fill patterns do not print opaque over image files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 11, 2005 at 2:56:33 AM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1460956

Objects:

20473

Forum Posts:

150566

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7654

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights