RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

300 Users Online (156 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Almost an underlay

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Mar 30, 2006 at 12:04:30 AM | Almost an underlay

#1

paulh


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 14, 2005
51 Posts
No Rating


Small visibility problem. I'm working on a mezzanine plan and the architect would like the layout of the floor below to show in the atrium space. I know I can do this by setting the view range to the floor below but is there ary way to make all that half toned as well?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 30, 2006 at 12:34:25 AM | RE: Almost an underlay

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Use the underlay of the level you require OR create a view of what you want to see halftoned. Then set the appropriate category visibility settings to be half toned and overlay the view on the sheet. HTH.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Mar 30, 2006 at 12:57:32 AM | RE: Almost an underlay

#3

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


here is some "Floor Plan Back Ground" info from the Revit Beginners website, Let's say you're doing your own mechanical, electrical, structural or other drawings that require a floor plan that is greyed or halftone (a background). We've found two ways to accomplish this: Display Model As Underlay: The easiest way is to Duplicate your Proposed Floor Plan view (without Detailing) This is done by right clicking on your floor plan view in the project browser and selecting Duplicate. Now go to the View's Properties and you'll notice a Display Model parameter. By default this is set to Normal. Switch this to As Underlay. Now you can add your view specific tags, annotations, symbols, detail lines, etc. on top of the model. Unfortunately your lighting, furniture, electrical and other families will also be greyed out. If you need to show some model elements Normal then it's on to the next approach. Visibility/Graphics Halftone: Duplicate your Proposed Floor Plan view (without Detailing) This is done by right clicking on your floor plan view in the project browser and selecting Duplicate. Now go to the view's Visibility/Graphic Overrides (VG). Under Model Categories select ALL. Now unhighlight Electrical Fixtures and Lighting Fixtures and check the Halftone box for one of the highlighted categories. Notice all the highlighted categories are now set to halftone. Click OK. You now have a floor plan background for your lighting and electrical work. Do the same for Detail Items, Electrical Equipment, Plumbing Fixtures, Furniture, Structural Framing, etc. for other disciplines. Go to View... Save as View Template... and you can save these changes to a View template for use in all your projects. To further configure View Templates go to Settings... View Templates. hope this helps, best regards, coreed, aia Post edited on 2006-03-29 18:57:54

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 30, 2006 at 2:25:37 AM | RE: Almost an underlay

#4

fordd


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 22, 2006
26 Posts
No Rating


Coreed, Bravo on the detailed explanation on "how to." Too often both here and on Autodesk's Revit forum, assistance from those in the know is often provided in almost cryptic messages...a sentence frag here, a couple of words there. The responses are always appreciated, but sometimes as clear as Revit's help content! So from us noobs to yous pros...step by step instructions are really appreciated Smile Assume we know nada....sometimes that won't be far from the truth. Cheers

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 30, 2006 at 4:50:47 AM | RE: Almost an underlay

#5

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


No Worries Fordd, But remember when you are answering lots and lots of questions we don't have the spare time to give a detailed response on every post... I tend to give a quick general how to, then if that isn't sufficient a reply is usually sent advising that they need a step by step approach. Then I'll try to find sometime to help if I can. If i assumed everyone had just picked up Revit I'd never leave this site... Smile

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Mar 30, 2006 at 11:55:10 AM | RE: Almost an underlay

#6

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


with you on that one spoty Smile we often answer from work with the normal work load, it's hard to give a detail explanation with little time. though the best way to learn is to get a lead and follow it, exploring ways and making mistakes...

-----------------------------------

Integrator

Architectural Engineering Construction

KarelCAD

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Mar 30, 2006 at 7:09:38 PM | RE:

#7

paulh


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 14, 2005
51 Posts
No Rating


Use the underlay of the level you require OR

create a view of what you want to see halftoned. Then set the appropriate category visibility settings to be half toned and overlay the view on the sheet.

HTH.

I thought about using underlay but the problem with that is the main floor walls under the mezzanine show through as well. I just want the walls in the atrium area showing. Unfortunately creating to views on the same sheet has the same problem. There's no way to hide the stuff under the mezzanine. Crop region doesn't work because I need non-rectangular, filled regions don't work because they hide model objects in ALL views on the sheet and plan regions don't work because furniture objects still show.

The only solution I see is to export the main floor plan as a DWG delete the unwanted items and then import it into the mezzanine view and half tone the import object. A PITA way of doing it.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 30, 2006 at 8:47:29 PM | RE: Almost an underlay

#8

arccodex1


active

Joined: Sat, Aug 6, 2005
241 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Did you try using your filled region in the mezzanine VIEW, not in the sheet.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 31, 2006 at 4:23:01 AM | RE: Almost an underlay

#9

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Currently the only workaround would be utilise worksets to turn of the specific elements you don't want to see. Revit 9 should change this, if you can wait a few weeks.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Underlay

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 11, 2012 at 1:15:33 PM

3

Underlay is not working

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 28, 2014 at 10:29:50 PM

1

REVIT 2015 - Underlay: EXPORT?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 5, 2014 at 7:54:54 PM

7

misguided underlay

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 19, 2013 at 2:14:29 PM

7

wrong underlay showing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 27, 2014 at 7:29:57 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1551247

Objects:

21383

Forum Posts:

151400

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 8.2756

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights