RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

159 Users Online (56 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Grid Bubble Trouble Revit 2015

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Sep 24, 2015 at 5:13:20 AM | Grid Bubble Trouble Revit 2015

#1

mario75ba


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 18, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi I'm Mario a Revit Newbie I've begun the transition from Cad to Bim my question is about grid bubble families, here at work we have company families and standards I'm in charge of creating a template with our company standards everything has been going along perfectly until i ran into custumizing the grid bubbles from the OTB family grid bubble to what we normally use I added a picture of a CAD example where the grid bubbles are two parts the top part has a letter and the bottom part is the distance in meters between the grid line from the prior. For example A/0.00 to B/1.55 

 

I know I'd start with creating a new family based on the grid bubble family from the revit template but how would I go about creating the formulas in the family for the distance between grids to appear.

I''ve been trying to wrap my head around this problem but im completely stumped.

If anyone could help me out I would greatly appreaciate it.

 

-Mario



Attached Images

141546_Example.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 24, 2015 at 12:30:42 PM | Grid Bubble Trouble Revit 2015

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


As you transition from CAD to Revit, I suggest that your office seriously looks at their standards.   Making Revit work the best often means you don't mimick what you did in CAD.

 

You can edit the grid head family and add a shared parameter to host this number.  But that means you must first learn about shared parameters from your HELP.   Of course this number will be dumb just like it is in CAD and that defeats what's great about Revit.

 

In 50 years, I have never seen the convention you are using.  How well do the contractors deal with this? 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 24, 2015 at 6:48:35 PM | Grid Bubble Trouble Revit 2015

#3

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 35 Votes


Interesting. I too have never seen a grib bubble like that. Just dimension between the grid lines. Done. Move on. Especially if the number you are putting in is a manual /unintelligent number which is BEGGING for mistakes as the model changes. Unless that lower number is in fact automatic I'd scrap that standard completely. Use dimensions which will always be correct and update when the grid moves etc.

 

And as I am involved in many CAD to REVIT transitions one of the first things I say is 'You are NOT going to get REVIT to look exactly like your CAD files. You can come close and over time you can get even closer but don't let is suck the energy out of your transition. Make a few small sacrifices for larger gain but focus on getingt the wheels turning rather then re-creating your old CAD standards. Just my 2 cents . . .


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 24, 2015 at 10:48:55 PM | Grid Bubble Trouble Revit 2015

#4

mario75ba


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 18, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Thanks guys for responding. I forgot to mention that our office resides in Mexico, and I think my question was misunderstood a bit. The grid bubble in itself with the lettering is not the issue, becuase in Revit I know that during in the grid option I can change the letter to a number sequence or vice versa. The issue I am having is creating a parameter that places the value of the distance from gird to grid inside the gird bubble. Example in the picture I add the grid line A and the grid line B , grid line A since it's the first grid line at the bottom of the grid bubble has a value of 0.00 then the next grid bubble gird line B has a value of 0.39 thats because the distance from grid line A to grid line b is 0.39 meters. I know that Revit is not going to look exactly like our projects in CAD but the idea of revit being parametric is the reason I thought it would be possible. I took the OTB Grid Bubble revit offers and Made the Label a bit smaller then I went about to try to input value of length underneath the label but thats where I'm stuck as I have no idea what to do next.

 

The reason I'm stuck on this part and haven't gone on to finish the rest of the template is because since we do primarily government work here at this office they ask for everything in DWG. and the goverment supervisor is very nit picky so if I were to just use the OTB gridline this person would keep complaining and complaining. If there is no workaround thats fine. I used the help section of revit but I couldnt find info for shared parameters and how to apply that to this current problem.

 

I truly do aprreaciate your responses.

 

Best Regards

Mario



Attached Images

141580_Example.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 25, 2015 at 12:25:43 PM | Grid Bubble Trouble Revit 2015

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Revit is parametric with the tools it gives you, not necessarily what you dream up.   Please re-read my initial post - it tells you what you can do.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

3d model text in grid bubble

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 27, 2015 at 4:57:55 PM

3

Grid Bubble formatting between projects

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Oct 26, 2014 at 1:33:04 PM

1

Different Grid Bubble for different scale views?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 11:42:13 AM

4

Multi Segment Grid Line Bubble Issue

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 11, 2013 at 8:52:11 PM

4

Column grid text too wide to fit in bubble

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 1, 2010 at 1:32:06 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1779605

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151940

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.8177

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights