RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

328 Users Online (160 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Sep 4, 2015 at 1:49:40 PM | How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

#1

buttonsrtoys


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I'm cleaning up project from a summer intern who ignored (hid) Revit levels datums and instead drew elevation the datums with detail lines. So, the elevations of the level datums have little relevance to the model.

When I change a level's elevation, it moves and takes everything associated with it. Is there a way to change a level's elevation and tell Revit not to move anything associated with it, but rather associated objects (e.g., floors) would just adjusct their height offset? 

This is obviously different than changing an entire model's elevation, which is what I'm hitting when I google. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 4, 2015 at 1:56:15 PM | How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 359 Votes


You mean you just want CAD ... Well you already have that.

 

Datums and the association of elements to them is what makes Revit work.  Either use it or use the 2D CAD approach. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 4, 2015 at 2:20:02 PM | How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

#3

buttonsrtoys


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Sorry, I could have been clearer in my post. The summer intern went rogue and used Revit like CAD. I'm trying to fix her crappy model.

The Revit level datums were all hidden. I turned them back on and they're all like 2' above the elevation they should be referencing. E.g. Revit datum "Level 1" is 1'-5 85/128" above finished floor. So, floor levels, walls, and everything else relevant in the model have height offsets, base offsets, etc., to correct for this. (God knows how she modeled this monster to begin with.)

I deleted her 2D level datums (which were just detail lines and text) and now need to fix the Revit datums. Obviously, if I just move the datum 1'-5 85/128" down the page, everything associated with it moves to. I considered creating a new datum at the correct elevation and changing the refernced levels in the walls and floors to the new level, and deleting the old level, but then I'd lose the view associated with the old level.

Is there a way to move the datum 1'-5 85/128"down the page without moving everything associated it?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 4, 2015 at 2:50:15 PM | How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 359 Votes


I heard your question and the answer is the same.  The plans are associated with the level.  The view range is associated with the level.  Obviously, many elements are associated with the level.  That is how Revit works. 

 

You should fix the model by moving the level and setting element offsets correctly.  If you don't, your headakes will only get worse.

 

Your other alternative is to turn off the datums and add 2D stuff.... oh... you already have that....

 

There is no magic button here - you got what you paid for and managed.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 4, 2015 at 3:02:12 PM | How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

#5

buttonsrtoys


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


WW, you're just stating the obvious. Any have constructive advice?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 4, 2015 at 5:30:00 PM | How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 359 Votes


What's not constructive?   You are asking if there is something magic you can do and there isn't.

 

Your better response would have been ... What's the easiest way to fix this?  Then I would have said - use a schedule.  Schedule your walls by layer and include the base offset.  Not 'show all'.  Change the offset to 0 and those are done.  Do similar with windows, doors and floors and anything else that is level based.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 4, 2015 at 6:28:32 PM | How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

#7

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


Unfortunately, no, there isn't an easy way to deal with this--I'm also guilty of letting models "slip" a bit from the levels actually representing anything useful, for this exact reason--it's VERY hard to move levels after anything references them.

 

I have, however, found one way to erase irrelevant levels. I only did this once, a very long time ago... Open up a fresh project.  In that project, only have one level.  Copy and paste EVERYTHING (except things which cannot be copy/pasted) from your first model into your new file.  This will force the pasted elements to adopt the new file's levels and recalculate base levels, top offsets, etc. They'll all be offset from level 1.  Not ideal... but at least it breaks associations with rogue levels.

 

You can then do two things--move forward with this new file, or delete the model from your old file, adjust your levels, and paste the new one back in to preserve any sheets and annotations you've already created.

 

Alternatively, you can just go about manually fixing things.  You can link in one of the revit backups as a reference tool to snap elements back to, after adjusting the levels. 

 

Bummer.



Edited on: Fri, Sep 4, 2015 at 1:30:21 PM

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 4, 2015 at 7:51:25 PM | How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

#8

buttonsrtoys


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
40 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks for the thoughts, alterego. Unfortunately the project's going to tender soon and another landed on my desk today, so I don't have time for a proper fix. My hack/workaround will be to add new Revit datums at the proper levels, show them on sections and elevations, and hide the errant ones. On the sheets I'll use the views associated with the errant levels. Hopefully I'll have time to revisit and fix in the future.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 29, 2015 at 6:53:58 PM | How to move a single level datum without moving anything in model

#9

wheelergc


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 9, 2007
62 Posts
No Rating


you can move the project base point, that will fix the elevations of the numbers if done right. Don't know if that is all you are really looking to do. 


-----------------------------------

I don't want to be interesting. I want to be good.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

How to change Window Reference level in Window Schedule

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 16, 2011 at 2:49:17 PM

0

Level heads - Geodetic vs. datum

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 18, 2005 at 12:44:43 AM

1

Basement Datum Level Line: Now you see it, now you don't

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Nov 18, 2011 at 5:41:49 PM

3

Level trouble - Level Constraints

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Jul 13, 2010 at 2:44:54 PM

3

Move a level without deleting objects on that level

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 4, 2017 at 10:20:23 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1511926

Objects:

21249

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.5556

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights