RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

451 Users Online (232 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Sketchup to Revit

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Aug 21, 2015 at 3:49:31 PM | Sketchup to Revit

#1

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 43 Votes


I'm hoping someone with Sketchup knowledge can help me out here.  I've notice that when I try to bring some Sketchup models into Revit some of the components slide around when they are imported into Revit.  Usually I can open up Sketchup and explode some pieces and that fixes the problem.  Right now I'm trying to bring an ambulance in and it looks right in Sketchup put it's missing a panel when I bring it into Revit and there's nothing left to explode that I know of.  Can Idea whats going on here or why this happens? I attached some images the .skp file was to large so heres the link.    

 

https://3dwarehouse.sketchup.com/model.html?id=u67605ee2-782c-44e6-b783-87a147d9464c



Edited on: Fri, Aug 21, 2015 at 10:51:54 AM

Attached Images

141001_SKETCHUP.JPG141001_REVIT.JPG

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Aug 21, 2015 at 3:52:47 PM | Sketchup to Revit

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


I find that a lot of the problems I see with skethup files is the lack of layer control.  Remember, layers can be off, and different materials.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 21, 2015 at 4:22:28 PM | Sketchup to Revit

#3

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 43 Votes


Yea I guess I just don't know enough about Sketchup.  I've tried everything I can think of in Revit and can't get that panel to turn on.


This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Aug 22, 2015 at 4:30:51 AM | Sketchup to Revit

#4

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


I think that panel might be done by "PAINT BUCKET". You need to delete that, add layers, modify the model, then the color can be controlled by Revit.

Check this old thread.

 

http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=29146

 

My suggestion is don't explode any dwg or skp files. Modify them in each program as required.

AutoCAD and SketchUp are all very useful tools for our design profession.

AutoCAD is a very elementary program; SketchUp a very user-friendly and fun to work with.

We should learn how to use both.

 



Edited on: Sat, Aug 22, 2015 at 1:58:26 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 26, 2015 at 3:41:27 PM | Sketchup to Revit

#5

richardowst


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 23, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I find that often when I modify (eg stretch) grouped items in Sketchup and then bring them into Revit, they revert back to their pre-stretched state or have bits missing. Therefore, I've got into a habit of saving a copy of my modified sketchup file and then exploding everything in it and saving it before importing it into Revit.

You might not have modified your sketchup file since grouping it but the person who made it might have.

You can get a plugin for sketchup called BOMB which explodes all.  


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Sketchup model into Revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Jan 8, 2013 at 6:06:20 PM

3

SketchUp to Revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Mar 22, 2009 at 11:53:33 PM

2

Sketchup To Revit Problems *Please Help*

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Mar 12, 2009 at 2:21:29 PM

1

A little SketchUp with your REVIT ? [ 1 2 3 ]

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Apr 13, 2009 at 8:06:13 PM

34

PLEASE HELP! Revit + Sketchup intol Artlantis

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 7, 2014 at 11:26:28 AM

13

Site Stats

Members:

1465324

Objects:

20526

Forum Posts:

150602

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6170

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights