RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

247 Users Online (141 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> URGENT - Changing Parameters in current view only

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jul 30, 2015 at 11:10:34 PM | URGENT - Changing Parameters in current view only

#1

mike3


active

Joined: Sun, May 20, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


I'm working on a project that is quite urgent so any help ASAP would be greatly appreciated.

When you make a family, (lets say a chair for example), I put text saying "Chair" with a visibility paramater on the 3D family (on floor plan). So I can choose when I want the text to appear saying "Chair" or not...

 

I've got 2 plans with this chair, one plan I want the text to appear and one I don't... Does that make sense?

Both paramater types "instance" and "type" have the same problem, you change the paramater on one plan and it'll change on the other, because it's the same family. 

 

Does anyone know how you can change text paramaters like this per view?

Basically I've got tons of families like this "Chair" example, and need to find a quick way I can do it.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 31, 2015 at 12:16:00 AM | URGENT - Changing Parameters in current view only

#2

aramixed


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 20, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


Perhaps you can try using view templates and set filters for each of these templates, where the filter hides certain text within that FP. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 31, 2015 at 1:12:14 AM | URGENT - Changing Parameters in current view only

#3

mike3


active

Joined: Sun, May 20, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


I had a look, I've never really used view templates/filters, can't find anything that allows me to change the settings for family paramaters that I'm loading into the project.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 31, 2015 at 12:24:13 PM | URGENT - Changing Parameters in current view only

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


After mMy first reading, my reaction was Instance parameters NEVER change other elements of the same family in the model.  But you are talking about other views ... well yea!   An instance is not a view - it is an instance in the model.

 

I have to say - I hate nested 3D text!   I believe a tag is far superior and it will stay readable.

 

So what are your solutions.  I don't see anything that will work differently for different views with different settings for the same object in the same view.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 24, 2015 at 4:02:52 PM | URGENT - Changing Parameters in current view only

#5

readyroth


active

Joined: Mon, May 19, 2008
0 Posts
2 Stars: 1 Votes


You could use a subcategory for the text.  That category could be turned on or off in the Visibility Graphics of the different views.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 8, 2015 at 12:57:38 AM | URGENT - Changing Parameters in current view only

#6

mike3


active

Joined: Sun, May 20, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the help guys


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 10, 2015 at 11:35:25 AM | URGENT - Changing Parameters in current view only

#7

whitetimothyaus


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 10, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


you can use many sub catogary.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Sep 14, 2015 at 1:36:13 AM | URGENT - Changing Parameters in current view only

#8

windowsdesign


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 14, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for Information.


-----------------------------------

Windows and Doors Design Inc | Puertas Y Ventanas Puerto Rico

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Changing display of walls below current level.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 18, 2014 at 12:36:35 PM

8

Current view template

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 21, 2011 at 3:34:05 PM

12

turning off levels below current on your sheet view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 10, 2010 at 5:19:11 PM

8

Issue while duplicating view and changing view scale

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Oct 3, 2009 at 10:47:29 PM

3

help its urgent

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 19, 2019 at 12:19:26 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1457301

Objects:

20459

Forum Posts:

150546

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1584

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights