RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

188 Users Online (97 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Deleting Levels without deleting associated walls

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jul 30, 2015 at 5:25:41 PM | Deleting Levels without deleting associated walls

#1

aricbouwers


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 25, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


I've got a pretty unique situation here. We are designing townhomes right now, and we have two that are essentially mirrored versions of each other. We finished one to 100% drafting perfection and decided to attempt to save DAYS (if not weeks) of drawing time by mirroring the entire project (model, annotations, dimensions, everything) and shift the model around a bit after to fit the grading of the site. We successfully mirrored the entire project by using the grid line that you see in the centre of the screen capture.

What i've ran into is trying to delete the annotations of the model that we copied from. What's going on is that the walls and floors and stuff that are on our new project (right part of screen capture) that we copied from the old project (the annotations on left of screen capture) , are still associated to the levels that i want to delete (the levels on the left of screen capture, attached). When i try to delete the levels from the old project, it takes with it all of the associated wall/floors/roofs (basically everything) and deltes those. Is there a way to delete these levels without having this happen?



Attached Images

140647_Cant_delete_levels.PNG140647_after_i_delete_the_levels.PNG

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 30, 2015 at 5:27:15 PM | Deleting Levels without deleting associated walls

#2

aricbouwers


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 25, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


***Version of Revit that I am using for this project is Revit 2015***


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 30, 2015 at 5:35:17 PM | Deleting Levels without deleting associated walls

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Is it too late to use the better process?

Since about 2010, the "mirror project" tool has been available in Revit.  It mirrors the whole project, not just model elements and it works.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 30, 2015 at 6:31:13 PM | Deleting Levels without deleting associated walls

#4

aricbouwers


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 25, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Better process being what? this way we can keep all the annotations, all the modelling without needing to start from scratch, etc. The levels that are still in the model are definitely annoying, but if they can't be dealt with, it's still worth it based on the amount of time we are saving on the project


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 30, 2015 at 6:32:05 PM | Deleting Levels without deleting associated walls

#5

aricbouwers


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 25, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


I guess i didn't quite read all of your response. Where is this "mirror project command"?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 30, 2015 at 6:38:36 PM | Deleting Levels without deleting associated walls

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Manage tab / position pulldown.  That should fix all your problems.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 30, 2015 at 7:25:14 PM | Deleting Levels without deleting associated walls

#7

aricbouwers


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 25, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


WOW. You just saved my bacon! Worked flawlessly, and there's no junk to deal with now. Thanks very much!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 30, 2015 at 7:43:47 PM | Deleting Levels without deleting associated walls

#8

aricbouwers


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 25, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


here's another question. Now that i've got it mirrored, I need to adjust the entire one half of the project DOWN, as the site drops more on this unit than the one i mirrored off of. Is there a way to do this so that it changes the elevations of the levels, but keep walls and floor and annotations intact?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Replacing levels with ref planes or deleting excess levels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 17, 2008 at 4:10:37 PM

0

deleting levels without deleting associated objects on it.

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Aug 1, 2013 at 11:20:35 AM

1

How do you Delete levels without deleting everything associated to them???

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 24, 2012 at 2:17:42 PM

2

Rev 13 deleting un-used levels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 22, 2012 at 4:13:53 PM

3

Mystery of the deleted level tag.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 20, 2008 at 4:52:51 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1551100

Objects:

21383

Forum Posts:

151400

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7698

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights