RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

242 Users Online (113 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> voids not cutting

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jul 7, 2015 at 5:03:17 PM | voids not cutting

#1

paddyJLH


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 15, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Any advise appreciated. I have a curved swept blend void created to form a 'scalloped' mitre feature to a church ambo sculpture, which refuses to work after cutting geometry is actioned. I suspect the geometry is too sutble for the task perhaps.

See attached jpeg.

thanks



Attached Images

140150_Ambo.JPG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 7, 2015 at 5:09:21 PM | voids not cutting

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


It needs to be part of the solid family, not seperate.

Basically, only system families can be cut by in-place voids.

 

.... I'm going to amend this^^.   I'm not sure about 'cuttable' families.   I know face based voids will cut countertops which are cuttable families.



Edited on: Tue, Jul 7, 2015 at 12:20:21 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 8, 2015 at 7:42:34 AM | voids not cutting

#3

paddyJLH


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 15, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Thanks WWhub for quick reply. The void i'm having the problem with is part of the family that I'm creating. The design calls for the tapered fluting at the mitred corners, which the blended void shape mimics very well. the frustrating thing is I'm one click away from completed the hard part of the task. I can add random voids to the family to cut at will, but not this one. Is it because I'm cutting a sweep (the top of the Ambo is a sweep) although extruded voids cut it no problem.

I attach RFA file for inspection, solutions gratefully accepted



This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 8, 2015 at 9:25:05 AM | voids not cutting

#4

ronmalit


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 30, 2012
113 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


as far as i know

this problem will occur,  in scenarios when the void element is not enough to cut clearly/entirely the solid element.

even a slight hairline gap will have this problem. see image 1

so what i can suggest is to extend out the path so swept blend void is entirely over the solid.

but then again, you have used a pick edge for a path, so you cannot adjust the path further out.

try other method which you will use sketch path.. have you tried using reference plane as your workplane.

i am able to cut. see image 2

 

as observed:

-you need to re-calculate your void radius because they are now slightly outside your form. so they cannot be R50 and R10 anymore. or its entirely upto you.

-your solid profile is not a perfect arc, when section diagonally. so you need to maybe use 2 set of void to follow your solid edge accurately. see image 3

 



Attached Images

140171_void.png140171_void2.png140171_void3.png

-----------------------------------

** dont be mad, i dont have much... i am homeless

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 8, 2015 at 3:14:50 PM | voids not cutting

#5

paddyJLH


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 15, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Thank you for taking the trouble. You were correct, the radius at the mitre is always different to the profile radius-doh! and extending the line works better tnan selecting 3D edge in this case.

Thanks again


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Cutting with Voids outside of families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 23, 2012 at 12:53:29 PM

2

Voids in Section

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 10, 2005 at 2:55:51 PM

2

Cutting roof frames

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 19, 2012 at 3:35:30 PM

3

So mass voids don't cut masses?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 1, 2016 at 11:45:45 PM

2

Columns with voids

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 30, 2015 at 7:09:31 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1468997

Objects:

20536

Forum Posts:

150615

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3717

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights