RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

50 Users Online (49 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Filtering by Phases - Revit MEP 2015

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jul 2, 2015 at 8:05:09 AM | Filtering by Phases - Revit MEP 2015

#1

jmckee


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 13, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


 

We have a renovation project with roughly 8 Phases of construction. The client wants to see a full buildout with the phases filled in by color or different line types per phase. Is there a way to create filters through the visibility graphics that can filter by phase? I assume that I could then use the overrides in the visibility graphics to change the color or line type.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 2, 2015 at 8:20:01 AM | Filtering by Phases - Revit MEP 2015

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


Revit's phases are hard for new users to understand because they are NOT project phases. 

 

Revit's phases are really only new, temporary, demolished and existing based on the current's view phase setting.  Revit's phases are really view phases.  So If you have set up 8 phases and the view is set to phase 6, then phase 6 is new and phases 1,2,3,4,5 are all existing.

 

If you have noticed, view filters do not allow you to filter by phase, so what do you do?

 

So in your case, I suggest you add to all your compontents (maybe just everything) a new project parameter - shared - and maybe call it PROJECT PHASE.   Now you have something to view filter by and change the VG accordingly.

 

BTW - You will have to fill in this parameter for all objects - nothing automatic here.



Edited on: Thu, Jul 2, 2015 at 8:21:02 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 2, 2015 at 8:37:31 AM | Filtering by Phases - Revit MEP 2015

#3

jmckee


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 13, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


 

Thanks WWHUb. I guess my question should be refined a bit. Is there a way to set up filters that use the phase created parameter in the properties to accomplish this instead of creating a new project parameter?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 2, 2015 at 9:06:08 AM | Filtering by Phases - Revit MEP 2015

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


I answered that question!   IT IS NO!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Phases and Worksets - Revit 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 2, 2013 at 8:15:14 AM

2

Schedules - filtering by view or duplicate?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 28, 2014 at 8:24:36 AM

2

Revit MEP or AutoCad MEP

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Oct 14, 2011 at 8:21:49 AM

6

Showing multiple phases in one viewport

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Jun 16, 2009 at 8:02:56 PM

1

Filtering in Schedules

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Feb 4, 2019 at 11:41:17 AM

0

Site Stats

Members:

2010039

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152196

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.8123

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights