RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

207 Users Online (80 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Porch Rack - best practice?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jun 18, 2015 at 3:23:12 AM | Porch Rack - best practice?

#1

KennedyDrafting


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 24, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Hello All.  What is the best way (or couple of ways) to model a porch rack?  I've tried with beams but they just seem too fussy. 

I tried using dimensional lumber famlies under beams, and line work for the overhead lines and that seems better but still not great.

The rack needs to show as two overhead (dashed) lines at the faces.  With the dimensional lumber, I can't get the overhead

lines of the rack to clean up in plan view.

Attached is a simple CAD sketch of what the plan needs to look like.

Thanks! 

JK



This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2015 at 3:23:51 AM | Porch Rack - best practice?

#2

KennedyDrafting


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 24, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


version 2016


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2015 at 3:04:10 PM | Porch Rack - best practice?

#3

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Use beams or model in-place components.  You can just use linework for the hidden lines to show on the floor plan


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 18, 2015 at 3:39:28 PM | Porch Rack - best practice?

#4

KennedyDrafting


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 24, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the reply. 

Like I said, beams are not creating the correct out put. 

In place modeling isn't a good solution in this case because my company draws this condition over and over so it needs to be easily adjustable and parameteric.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2015 at 3:58:36 PM | Porch Rack - best practice?

#5

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Hard to say because I don't know what output you are getting that is a problem.  If it is something that is created a lot then create it as a family.  That way you can make it parametric and have symbolic lines right in the family to show up in your floor plan.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

server rack

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 5, 2006 at 9:23:54 PM

0

Vynil Porch Post

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Nov 18, 2011 at 2:05:07 PM

5

Magazine Rack

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Fri, May 14, 2010 at 6:31:19 PM

1

hey free bike rack families, and they are pretty cool

Community >> The Studio

Mon, Aug 3, 2009 at 9:37:22 PM

3

porch stairs

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Sep 9, 2010 at 9:20:46 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1623877

Objects:

22014

Forum Posts:

151625

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6124

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights