RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

74 Users Online (73 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Door / Opening within a Curtain wall.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jun 17, 2015 at 5:05:04 AM | Door / Opening within a Curtain wall.

#1

RF1987


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 17, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi Everyone,

I'm struggling with something and I hope there is fix for the problem. I am trying to place a door in a curtain wall which is made up of Kngspan Panels. I cannot cut the panels then place a door in the opening and the panels are placed in horizontal configuartion between 2 brick pillars. Is it just a case of bastardising the panels in some way? I have attached a pic of the area that i need the opening is to be placed.

Hope someone can help.

Regards



Attached Images

139784_Problem.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 17, 2015 at 6:35:22 AM | Door / Opening within a Curtain wall.

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


You know what the image is but we don't.  We also don't know what a Kingspan panel is.

What is the limits of the curtain wall?  Are these panels curtain wall panels or are they a wall placed in a panel location?   Are you using a wall hosted door or a curtain wall door?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 17, 2015 at 7:07:48 AM | Door / Opening within a Curtain wall.

#3

RF1987


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 17, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


They are Kingspan Micro-rib 900mm high 150mm think panels within a curtain wall. I was hoping to use them as a wall family which is much easier to edit but unfortunately they come in to Revit as a curtain wall panel. The panels are layed horizontally at 900mm spaces going up to approx 8000mm above finished floor level. The exact height will be confirmed at a later date as another set of panels will be utilised to form a parapet around a duo-pitch roof. If there is a way of turning these panels in to a wall? That would be great but i'm unsure whether that is a viable option. There is a block wall internally to form a structure and these panels are basically used for aesthetic reasons. Any other questions please don't hesitate to ask.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 17, 2015 at 1:03:41 PM | Door / Opening within a Curtain wall.

#4

Roger1w


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


Are these a family or made as a wall?

we did a building with this product and I just modeled them as a wall then any hosted familys work normal.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2015 at 9:59:38 AM | Door / Opening within a Curtain wall.

#5

RF1987


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 17, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi Roger,

They are downloaded from the kingspan website through the BIM store and they automatically come in as curtain wall panels. Not sure whether they can be done as walls but maybe there is something i am not seeing. This is our first big BIM model so we are finding new things all the time.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 18, 2015 at 10:11:14 AM | Door / Opening within a Curtain wall.

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 389 Votes


This company brags about their BIM products but they don't include anything in their instructions to help you.   I suggest you contact them and ask for their solution.   It's good that they are thinking BIM but they should supply answers to this kind of question.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 7, 2018 at 5:57:24 AM | Door / Opening within a Curtain wall.

#7

asintoras


active

Joined: Sat, Apr 23, 2011
0 Posts
No Rating


Assuming you want the door centered in the panel (between the bricks), you would have to split the curtain wall in segments: one that goes beyond the door height and up, and other two segments on each side of the door. Then you can add a normal wall to fill the gap whose lenght is the same as the door structural opening, and insert your door there.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Curtain Wall Panel to Curtain Wall Door

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 9:32:11 AM

7

curtain wall door

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 31, 2006 at 1:36:58 AM

1

Curtain wall door frame

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 2, 2015 at 11:37:33 AM

6

Wall opening (door)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 31, 2015 at 10:58:12 AM

5

Windows/opening/curtain system on inclined wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 21, 2009 at 5:16:45 AM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1987040

Objects:

22874

Forum Posts:

152182

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8215

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights