RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

32 Users Online (31 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Link in Arch Model's walls instead of copying them into Structural

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jun 11, 2015 at 10:56:46 AM | Link in Arch Model's walls instead of copying them into Structural

#1

RevitRural


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Problem: Using Copy/Monitor to bring in walls from Architect's model has been a nightmare. Walls don't join properly, exterior/interior is flipped at times, they have custom insets & reveals that do not transfer via copy/monitor, ETC.

Question: Would it be bad practice for me to simply link in the Architect's model, turn all visibility off except walls, then place my Structural foundations and framing on those walls? (See attached pic)

One disadvantage is that I cannot lock/constrain anything to the linked walls.

Your thoughts please.



Attached Images

139707_0archlink.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 11, 2015 at 11:12:25 AM | Link in Arch Model's walls instead of copying them into Structural

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


There is no reason to copy walls that don't affect your structure.  In most cases, architectural reveals or inserts should not affect you.

 

You do know that when you copy/monitor, you can assign your own types to the walls that are copied into your model?  In most cases, you are only concerned with the structural portion of the walls.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2015 at 9:37:04 AM | Link in Arch Model's walls instead of copying them into Structural

#3

RevitRural


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Unfortunately 90% of the walls in this project are load-bearing/structural, so copying them is the easy way.

I do know about the wall substitution in Copy/Monitor, but all wall layers shown in Arch will also be in Structural (8" CMU + Brick , although I could do away with the rigid insulation layer).


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2015 at 9:48:46 AM | Link in Arch Model's walls instead of copying them into Structural

#4

RevitRural


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Here are some wall-related issues I cannot find answers to...

If the wall has an edited profile, I get footings underneath all parts (see attached). 

I assume the work-around is to use wall & door openings instead of editing the wall profile? If so editing a wall's profile seems pointless for a structural engineer.

 



Attached Images

139739_ScreenHunter05_Jun._15_10.33.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2015 at 9:52:35 AM | Link in Arch Model's walls instead of copying them into Structural

#5

RevitRural


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


This may have a simple answer....

How come one end of this wall butts correctly, but the other end does not? Could it be the wall not cooperating has an edited profile?

The other pics are what the same corners look like Mitered)

 

 



Attached Images

139740_ScreenHunter02_Jun._15_10.28.jpg139740_ScreenHunter01_Jun._15_10.27.jpg139740_ScreenHunter04_Jun._15_10.29.jpg139740_ScreenHunter03_Jun._15_10.28.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2015 at 10:37:40 AM | Link in Arch Model's walls instead of copying them into Structural

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


Your architect may not be doing you any favors....I pay a lot of attention to wall joins and I work with our structural engineers.

 

Wall sketches are always problematic.  So are unlocked layers.  Autodesk needs to change footings so they are not affected by finish and substrate layers.

 

The image with the stepped - weird footings on the sketched wall could be handled with split walls (vertically).  That should be done where the wall forms a 'C'.  The upper portion should be seperate and not have a ftg.  The step on the left is OK except for too big of a jump.  I handle jumps like I post here:  http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=34557

 

The last set of images may clear up if you step through the joins available although the ones to the far right may be cause by wall join conditions above.  Look in 3D.  The walls need to be at the same level.  If not, then a horizontal split may be required.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 15, 2015 at 11:17:11 AM | Link in Arch Model's walls instead of copying them into Structural

#7

RevitRural


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Sadly, I think you are correct when you said "Your architect may not be doing you any favors"

I just found 3 walls overlapping. All walls appeared to be the same wall composition, in the same place.... except each had different lengths.

I'm glad I'm not the only one who doesn't know what I'm doing in Revit. lol.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 16, 2015 at 10:40:16 AM | Link in Arch Model's walls instead of copying them into Structural

#8

RevitRural


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


UPDATE on how I am approaching this.

1. I am still copying the Arch walls via Copy/Monitor. (Only initially)

2. I reset the profile of the problem walls (the ones that have had their profile edited tend to be problematic).

3. I then place wall openings where those walls previously had edited profiles, using the linked Arch for reference.

_

-This works so much better when adding footings.

-Wall Joins function as they should.

-After frustration, I learned I need to be in elevation view in order to snap/align wall openings using the linked Arch as reference.

_

Conclusion: Edited Profile Walls Suck Smile


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 16, 2015 at 11:10:59 AM | Link in Arch Model's walls instead of copying them into Structural

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


I think most of your problems could be alieviated by using seperate foundation walls.  Unless we have lower (basement) levels, our architectural walls end at the first (ground) floor level.  The structural engineer places his own foundation walls under these walls.  He copy monitors interior structural walls and openings using his own core only walls.   We link his model back in and only show his foundation walls.  That seems to work well for both of us.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 16, 2015 at 1:23:00 PM | Link in Arch Model's walls instead of copying them into Structural

#10

RevitRural


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


That was also my thoughts at the beginning of this thread. 

Most of the walls will be CMU/Brick, with sloped Bar Joists bearing on them, plus CMU/Brick parapet above. I suppose I will need to show my own walls so that things will display properly on my plan sheets.

Walls seem to be the biggest hang-up when coordinating between Arch & Struct


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

When I import REV. ARCH Link, it lands way outside my work space

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 9, 2009 at 12:22:40 PM

7

structural walls copied from arch

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 21, 2009 at 6:49:55 AM

1

Problems Copying Walls from Linked Arch Plans?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 15, 2009 at 4:23:32 PM

1

Linking Building & Structure Models

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 28, 2007 at 5:46:17 PM

7

Arch Link and wall view ranges/visibility graphics

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 21, 2010 at 10:06:47 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

2016489

Objects:

22942

Forum Posts:

152203

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.2468

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights