RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

395 Users Online (211 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Wall Base Offset... one works, one doesn't. Why?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jun 10, 2015 at 6:07:17 PM | Wall Base Offset... one works, one doesn't. Why?

#1

RevitRural


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


In the first pic, I made the base offset of the wall -2'-0". It worked perfectly. (it even placed the wall below the wall openings.)

In the second pic, the same wall type does not cooperate. If I enter a base offset of -2'-0", the wall outline extends, but the actual wall parts do not. If I manually drag via grips, or put the Base Extension as -2'-0", only certain parts extend down. Not to mention I have no wall below the openings.

What am I missing?



Attached Images

139672_001good.jpg139672_002bad.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 10, 2015 at 6:17:54 PM | Wall Base Offset... one works, one doesn't. Why?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 359 Votes


You first image doesn't mean much since the properties shown are not for anything in the image.  We can't really see what you are talking about.

 

In the second image, we don't know which layers are pulled up from the base.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 10, 2015 at 6:32:40 PM | Wall Base Offset... one works, one doesn't. Why?

#3

RevitRural


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


My bad. I assumed the 1st pic would be easier to view the way I did it. (good detective work though Smile )

Here is another corner. (see attached) 

The wall on the right behaved perfectly.

The highlighted wall did not. Both have a Base Offset of -2'-0".

Could the issue somehow be related to how to walls join? (see red arrow in pic).

 

 



Attached Images

139674_003walljoin.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 10, 2015 at 6:53:12 PM | Wall Base Offset... one works, one doesn't. Why?

#4

RevitRural


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I may have solved this (somewhat).

When I Reset the Profile of the problem wall, it performs like it should. (the bad wall had an altered profile, the good wall did not)

Is it that alterting the profile of a wall will cause it to not function like a wall that is not profile-altered?

I assume I need to edit the wall profile and draw it down -2'-0" and underneath the wall openings.

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 10, 2015 at 6:56:04 PM | Wall Base Offset... one works, one doesn't. Why?

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 359 Votes


Still not sure what you are showing us.   The corner join should not matter and yours does not appear to be joined at all.

 

You image looks like your wall only has two layers and we can't tell which one is the base layer - inside or outside - looking at the corner, the outside layer appears to be the base with the inside layer pulled up.

 

How did you create your openings?   I'm pretty sure its a wall sketch because of the grip that shows...... And thinking that - you sketched it before you pulled the wall up/down.... and voila!   The wall sketched opening goes all the way to the wall base.   So edit the wall skech and see if that's true.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 10, 2015 at 7:01:04 PM | Wall Base Offset... one works, one doesn't. Why?

#6

RevitRural


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I may have solved this (somewhat).

When I Reset the Profile of the problem wall, it performs like it should. (the bad wall had an altered profile, the good wall did not)

Is it that alterting the profile of a wall will cause it to not function like a wall that is not profile-altered?

I assume I need to edit the wall profile and draw it down -2'-0" and underneath the wall openings.

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 10, 2015 at 7:10:07 PM | Wall Base Offset... one works, one doesn't. Why?

#7

RevitRural


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 1, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


WWHub wrote:"How did you create your openings?   I'm pretty sure its a wall sketch because of the grip that shows...... And thinking that - you sketched it before you pulled the wall up/down.... and voila!   The wall sketched opening goes all the way to the wall base.   So edit the wall skech and see if that's true."

 

These are walls copy/monitored from an Architects Model then switched to Structure/Bearing.

Editing the wall sketch did the trick.

Thank you WWHub.... Imagine learning Revit on your own, having no coworkers to ask these questions, then get hoisted into a super complex, multi-million dollar project with multiple buildings where most things are curved, tapered, slanted, sloped, cantilevered, etc. Well, that is me. I will probably ask more questions as long as you will have me here.

It's funny after I edited the profile, Revit told me this.....(see attached)

I'm like "That's what I was trying to do, Revit!" lol

 

 



Attached Images

139681_004editprof.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 10, 2015 at 7:53:52 PM | Wall Base Offset... one works, one doesn't. Why?

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 359 Votes


You are right!   Learning Revit alone is not near as good as learning in an open office with multiple people.   Each one contributes to the knowledge of others when they ask questions or share their discoveries.   That is how I learned initially then by teaching others.  Teaching and answering questions also helps you to learn.  

 

My years here have been very worthwhile to me and our office.   Every time someone like you that asks a valid question, I learn something .... and hopefully, so do others that read these threads.  I do get a little cranky when members ask questions and you know they didn't even try to find an answer or didn't try to use the HELP....<< But that is just a result of my old age.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Craeting roofs which slope from one level towards another lower level

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 30, 2006 at 11:31:24 AM

9

Noob: can't seem to view level 2 plan view after i changed the wall base offset

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 6, 2011 at 1:32:16 PM

1

Family Editor: works... then doesn't!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 2, 2005 at 10:23:05 PM

9

Wall quantities with offsets

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 19, 2008 at 10:55:45 PM

11

Wall openings

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 26, 2013 at 2:58:14 PM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1512255

Objects:

21254

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.9012

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights