RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

226 Users Online (83 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit 2015: Help with this railing?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, May 11, 2015 at 5:16:47 PM | Revit 2015: Help with this railing?

#1

jmqrsq


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 21, 2005
168 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


I am trying to recreate an old autocad detail for our typical 1.5" diameter steel railing and I cannot get it to cl;ean up correctly when using the custon terminations. Can someone assist me in figuring out how to make this work correctly or at least tell me if this is not achievable using the stair tool alone?

Edited on: Mon, May 11, 2015 at 12:18:11 PM



Edited on: Mon, May 11, 2015 at 12:18:57 PM

Attached Images

139065_Stair_termination.PNG

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 12, 2015 at 3:26:04 AM | Revit 2015: Help with this railing?

#2

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Try to make your bottom railing end piece up to one more step.

See following post, which I did four years ago. I didn't know the 2MB limitation then.

Please down load both 8505-CDWxxxxx-01 and 02. The file 01 has the stair and partial railing due to the size; the 02 has all required families. The trick was to start the railing one step higher from the bottom or one step lower than the upper landing. This will give you a smooth connection. Sorry I do not have the Revit at home.

That means both the top and bottom end pieces have to be longer. If the stair slope changed, then you have to modify the end pieces accordingly.

Hope that can provide some hints.

http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=22344

 



Edited on: Mon, May 11, 2015 at 10:29:02 PM

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 12, 2015 at 12:33:38 PM | Revit 2015: Help with this railing?

#3

jmqrsq


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 21, 2005
168 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


I follwed your link and downloaded your two rvt files. The second file does not appear to have anything modeled in it. Am I missing something? I appreciate the help.

 

Also it appears that your railing has termination extensions but the funny thing is the type properties do not have a terminations parameter. Maybe that has something to do with the 2015 upgrade process?



Edited on: Tue, May 12, 2015 at 7:40:43 AM

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 12, 2015 at 2:08:39 PM | Revit 2015: Help with this railing?

#4

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


The second file has "all required families", please see the properties for families. Add all families in the second file into the first one, and play with them. Hope that you can get some hints.

If all done properly, you will get the railing as shown in the PDF file in the first one.

That posted railing was done in Revit 2009, but the concepts are the same.

Good luck!


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 12, 2015 at 4:26:34 PM | Revit 2015: Help with this railing?

#5

jmqrsq


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 21, 2005
168 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


I see how you did it. I was hoping to use the terminations parameter to achive the same thing since it appears as a new tool since the 2009 stuff. I am fudging it th ebest I can. =) Thanks for the help


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 12, 2015 at 4:44:38 PM | Revit 2015: Help with this railing?

#6

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


One more thing, check with your structural engineer for all sizes you are using.

The handrail railing I did was using 1-1/2" standard steel pipes, which is 1.9" dia. and only strong enough for handrail height up to 38" max. with supports @ 5'-0" max. for 250 lbs load.

The guard main supports are 2" standrad steel pipes, which is 2.375" dia. it can go up to 44" height with vertical supports @ 5'-0" max. on center. The stringers are 3"x12" to receive 2.375" pipes.

Since you are spending lots of time to make the railing, you should make it right.

 

 



Edited on: Mon, Jul 13, 2015 at 9:21:54 AM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Railing Issue with Revit 2015

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 7, 2016 at 12:38:07 PM

1

stair railing transition at landing issue (2015)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 16, 2015 at 2:29:50 PM

2

Curved railing.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 15, 2019 at 5:36:39 PM

6

rectangular railing

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Nov 26, 2012 at 1:30:07 PM

4

Opening a 2015 drawing in Revit 2014

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Jul 29, 2014 at 2:11:58 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1605986

Objects:

21959

Forum Posts:

151570

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 6.8984

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights