RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

178 Users Online (59 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Nested Families and System Parameters

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, May 7, 2015 at 4:08:31 PM | Nested Families and System Parameters

#1

RolandRevit


active

Joined: Thu, May 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


I have created a nested family. Each individual componet in the nested family System Parameter "Manufacture" is set. When loading the nested family into a project the System Parameter for Manufacture does not show up. It also does not show up in the Nested family.

How do I get the information in the System Parameter "Manaufacturer" to show up int he project? I also want the Schedule to pick up the Manaufacture information as well.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 7, 2015 at 6:00:27 PM | Nested Families and System Parameters

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Carefully read this HELP section HERE.


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 7, 2015 at 6:55:00 PM | Nested Families and System Parameters

#3

RolandRevit


active

Joined: Thu, May 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Okay so I have changed my nested family to be shared. I can see each componet in my nested Family shows me the system parameter setting for Manaufacture.

I deleted and purge the neste family in the project. Reloaded the nested family. Still do not see the Manufacture information in the project for the nested family.

Should I reloaded each individual componet in my nested family? Or should the shared setting be set in my individual items as in the Nested family?


This user is offline

 

Thu, May 7, 2015 at 8:26:51 PM | Nested Families and System Parameters

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Good questions.

Yes, the nested families needed to be loaded into the host.   Until you do that, the host is considered as one family, not a host with nested families. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 8, 2015 at 11:54:10 AM | Nested Families and System Parameters

#5

RolandRevit


active

Joined: Thu, May 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Okay. I am now getting system parameter Manufacture information for each componet (in the nested Family) in the schedule. But, I am not getting the Manufacture information for the entire nested family in the schedule. Any other ideas how the nested family would include the system parameter Manufacture information to be the same as each componet listed in the schedule?

Hopefully this makes sense.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 8, 2015 at 1:07:40 PM | Nested Families and System Parameters

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Are you asking how can you get host information into the nested family?   You would have to use a shared parameter that is set in the host family like you would for materials that are passed down to the nested family.  You can learn how do do that from the Autodesk 'families guide'.


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 8, 2015 at 2:47:41 PM | Nested Families and System Parameters

#7

RolandRevit


active

Joined: Thu, May 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


I have my nested family or host family with a the individual family componets in it. Nested family Z contains family A, B and C. Nested family and family A, B and C are set to shared.

Now, importing Nested Family Z into a Project and creating a Schedule of what is in the project. I see family A, B and C and the system parameter for Manufacturer is listed for each family A, B and C in the schedule.

The Nested family Z does not indicate the system parameter Manufacturer in the schedule.

What I really want is the Nested family Z only to showup in the project's schedule with the System Parameter for Manufacture name (which is included in the individual family A,B,C on the schedule).

Family A, B and C sytem manufacture parameter is "Acme". In the schedule Family Z manufacture is Blank/Nothing and I want it to say "Acme" as well.

I also think I need to take away the share because I do not want each componet Family A, B and C listed in the schedule.

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Nested Families & Parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 11, 2014 at 4:28:43 PM

1

Nested Families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 12, 2007 at 1:33:07 PM

4

Nested Families....

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 3, 2007 at 8:38:42 PM

4

Nested Parameters?

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 8:01:26 PM

2

Nested family parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 3, 2015 at 5:12:54 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1551776

Objects:

21383

Forum Posts:

151403

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.4703

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights