RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

316 Users Online (154 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit 2015 - Underground Pipes Set Distance Below Topography

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Apr 29, 2015 at 8:39:09 AM | Revit 2015 - Underground Pipes Set Distance Below Topography

#1

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Hi all,

I am using Revit 2015 and need to show pipework at a set distance below the topography.

So as the topography rises or falls, so should the pipework. The pipework would need to "read" off the topography level directly above it.

Does anyone know if this can be done?

Thanks in advance

Beau


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 29, 2015 at 12:10:02 PM | Revit 2015 - Underground Pipes Set Distance Below Topography

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


I think you would have to do some sort of line based family using face based (site hosted) points that you initially place.

 

My question is does this really have to be modeled?  Why isn't it just a path?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 30, 2015 at 1:04:23 PM | Revit 2015 - Underground Pipes Set Distance Below Topography

#3

xtnuser


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 6, 2011
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Oh boy. There certainly isn't any native method to achieve what you are asking. But there might be a work-around. If you watch the following vido, perhaps you can adapt some of the techniques, particularly the last one utilizing an entourage family.

 

http://au.autodesk.com/au-online/classes-on-demand/class-catalog/2013/revit-for-architects/ab3340#ooid=dpMHU2aTrCVtAvCORSwqbZ7VqnKzBLZB


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 4, 2015 at 6:04:32 AM | Revit 2015 - Underground Pipes Set Distance Below Topography

#4

ronmalit


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 30, 2012
113 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


hi xtnuser

i come here to read comments like yours

thanks for the link, i have learned a lot.

 


-----------------------------------

** dont be mad, i dont have much... i am homeless

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

underground

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 15, 2006 at 7:42:32 AM

0

Issues with Topography

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 18, 2005 at 6:22:56 AM

4

Trench family for underground utillites

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Mon, Nov 10, 2014 at 7:50:19 PM

7

can't "reach" pipes (revit MEP)

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 22, 2011 at 12:24:35 AM

3

Duo pipes - Twin pipes for central heating

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 16, 2019 at 9:48:53 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1531244

Objects:

21318

Forum Posts:

151315

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.1400

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights