RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

192 Users Online (64 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> elevation lines obscuring everything else (revit 2015)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 3:53:57 PM | elevation lines obscuring everything else (revit 2015)

#1

tkahler


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 3, 2012
1 Posts
No Rating


Our office is switching from CAD to Revit (yay!) and I'm setting up our template.  The partners want our graphics to remain the same, in all our CAD projects the elevation markers do not have datum lines that cross over the elevation.  In revit, I have tried:

-changing the lines to white, but then they cover any black lines which define things in the drawing (if a wall goes up to level 2, that black line marking the top border is not visible because the white line of the level marker is obscuring it).  

-pulling the datum lines off right up tight to the marker, but then the tags will not show in any section views because the datum line does not cross the section cut line

-creating a new line style that is only dots with a gap larger than the sheet, still shows up as solid in the elevation tag

The bosses don't want to see the lines at all, however they would settle for a very light line.  But I cannot find a way to control the transparency (gray lines present the same problem as white lines), extensive forum searching shows there is no equivalent to Draw Order in Cad for these lines, and unlike grid or section lines, I cannot find a way to delete the center segment.

What I've done so far is to make a new line style that is dots, with large gaps (but still small enough to fit on the page) and turned it white so there is only the occasional white dot showing in the section and elevation drawings.  There must be a better way to do this.

 

Any suggestions?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 4:41:33 PM | elevation lines obscuring everything else (revit 2015)

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


"the elevation markers do not have datum lines that cross over the elevation."  I can't visualize what you mean.  Attach an image please.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 5:40:29 PM | elevation lines obscuring everything else (revit 2015)

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


I understand what you want and you can't do it.  Datum lines can not be cut.

 

I think you will need to tell your partners that Revit is NOT CAD and they will have to alter some of their standards to agree with Revit processes.   We have seen a lot of posters come in here and try to make Revit look like CAD and they ALL FAIL!  It is wrong.  Revit has way too many advantages.  If you want CAD then stay with CAD.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 6:07:51 PM | elevation lines obscuring everything else (revit 2015)

#4

tkahler


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 3, 2012
1 Posts
No Rating


teafoe5:  See attached screenshot - sorry for the poor quality, it is just a screenshot from an old project.  The elevation markers are just floating symbols on the side, whereas revit wants to display a line that spans the width of the elevation.

 

WWHub:  I was afraid that would be the answer.  I'm a full on revit convert, working at a CAD-loyal office, so I know change will not be easy.  Do you know if there is a way to adjust the transparency of the datum line?  The less noticable it can be, the better.

 

Thanks.



Attached Images

138462_screenshot.JPG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 6:18:29 PM | elevation lines obscuring everything else (revit 2015)

#5

HKicsak


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 13, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


Have you tried hiding levels in the elevation and section views and doing spot elevations? That's what your AutoCAD markers look like. Process wise this would be a tedious set up, but it might be what you're looking for.

Of course, I agree with WWHub- Revit is not CAD and you need to emphasize that. I doubt that will be the only thing that will contradict your current standars, so maybe once you have a good list you can present it to them and point out the time savings Revit provides as defense for letting Revit BE Revit.


-----------------------------------

Using Revit2014, dragging the rest of the company with me from AutoCAD2008. When will the whining stop?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 6:39:02 PM | elevation lines obscuring everything else (revit 2015)

#6

tkahler


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 3, 2012
1 Posts
No Rating


HKicsak, that might be worth exploring as a last resort, but I'd rather work within revit's intended flow as much as possible.  It does not sound like there is an easy fix, no checkbox buried in a dialog box somewhere, so I think I'll follow your other suggestion and compile a list of things that are worth changing rather than spending hours trying to trick revit into looking like CAD.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 7:05:53 PM | elevation lines obscuring everything else (revit 2015)

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


I would just use the 2D setting for the level line and pull it back out of the building.  Then if you want to see that line on the other side, you can add a line that is align locked to the level.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

AutoCAD 2015 Lines Scramble when imported into Revit 2015

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 7, 2015 at 8:23:06 PM

2

Double-side elevation marker where one is the reference of another

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 26, 2015 at 4:02:57 PM

1

Revit 2015 Missing Toposurface Points?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 17, 2015 at 1:58:27 AM

1

Revit 2013 - Missing Elevation Markers

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 22, 2013 at 1:14:49 PM

3

Opening a 2015 drawing in Revit 2014

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Jul 29, 2014 at 2:11:58 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1704355

Objects:

22263

Forum Posts:

151781

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 5.3702

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights