RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

232 Users Online (96 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Room Tag Numbers

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Mar 21, 2006 at 10:01:04 PM | Room Tag Numbers

#1

Beyonder


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 8, 2005
7 Posts
No Rating


Is there a way to "Copy" & "Paste Aligned -> Current View" ROOM TAGS with the same numbers as the source view? I have a drawing set with several sheets, e.g. an electrical plan, a mechanical plan, an architectural plan, an equipment plan, and I want the room tags WITH THE SAME ROOM NUMBERS on each sheet. Currently, I have to go in after the paste and renumber the rooms, and they still show up twice in my room schedule (easily delt with by disabling "Itemize Every Instance" in the "View Properties -> Sorting" Tab, but still meaning that there are two rooms being recorded by Revit while there is actually only one space being modeled.)

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 22, 2006 at 2:21:39 AM | RE: Room Tag Numbers

#2

rodells


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 30, 2004
27 Posts
No Rating


There is a substantially different workflow in Revit than in CAD. In BIM (Revit), you create - and refine - one model; the various "plans" you describe should be thought of as just various ways of looking at that model. So approach the process this way: just duplicate a view on the relevant level, then rename it. Change the visibility settings (VG), scale, cropping, view depth, etc. to create just the view you are after. There should only be one room tag in the model in any given room. Your work-around is resourceful, but you are swimming upstream against a pretty strong current.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Mar 22, 2006 at 7:22:29 PM | RE: Room Tag Numbers

#3

Beyonder


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 8, 2005
7 Posts
No Rating


Genius! I get it! (I tried it on a new drawing). In that case, however, I've created a real mess. I would rather delete all of my duplicate layers (which have all since been re-titled), re-label my rooms on the source view (from which all duplicates spawned for any given level, and which as I understand, references off of a level) & add detailing/modeling, and create new views (with detailing) from the source view, which in effect would retain the same room numbers as the source view. I could then adjust the visibility settings approporaitely. (WORDY!!) My question is, how do I distinguish the source view from the duplicates (so that I'm not duplicating a duplicate)? (e.g. If I make a room schedule, I get a massive list of rooms, which I cannot find on ANY view, regardless of my view settings. I want to get rid of all of these rooms and start labeling them on a view which can then be duplicated. And I want the room numbers to NEVER change.) Or do I just delete all views, and start by placing new elevations & then levels from scratch? ALSO Does this mean that I should have a different source view for each phase (since some existing rooms are subdivided & numbered while others are joined and numbered), and how would I go about doing that without my phase 3 view being a duplicate of my phase 1 but with different labeling (or is that okay?)? Any phase tips are greatly appreciated.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 22, 2006 at 8:54:43 PM | RE: Room Tag Numbers

#4

Beyonder


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 8, 2005
7 Posts
No Rating


HEY!, Why do door tags behave the way I want them to?! No matter What view, What phase, when I drop a new door tag onto a door that has already been numbered once, it spits out the same number?! I want this behavior for rooms!!!!

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 22, 2006 at 9:06:15 PM | RE: Room Tag Numbers

#5

Steve_Stafford


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 12, 2003
114 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


If you first identify all your rooms in one plan view based on a certain level you should be able to copy to clipboard and then paste aligned current view in another view based on the same level. If this isn't working then something is wrong or your views are not based on the same levels or phase. If you identify a room once, any other view that shows that room should be able to tag showing the same exact information as long as they are in the same phase. Rooms/tags are phase aware and a room can only exist in one phase. When a room is the same room in both phases, untouched, no work etc...then you still have to identify it in the new phase but use the same number and name.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Mar 22, 2006 at 9:20:01 PM | RE: Room Tag Numbers

#6

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


To check and remove any duplicate rooms you may have, create a room schedule. In your schedule you'll see all the duplicate rooms. You can then delete them from here. Steve is correct with regards to the room tags. If the views are based on the same level and phase, copy and pasting room tags should be working.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Mar 23, 2006 at 7:06:52 AM | RE: Room Tag Numbers

#7

Beyonder


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 8, 2005
7 Posts
No Rating


So room tags are phase specific. And all plan views are based on an "Associated Level". That makes sense, and based on that, I was able to clean up and unify my 140,000 square foot project in about 45 minutes! That's all thanks to the awsome help you guys have all been, Thanks!!!! I do find it odd though, that room tags are phase specific, but door tags are not. Any thoughts?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 23, 2006 at 7:53:23 PM | RE: Room Tag Numbers

#8

Steve_Stafford


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 12, 2003
114 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Room Tags define a room, door tags do not. Doors can persist across phases while rooms can not. Doors have a phase demlished perimeter. Rooms do not. Rooms change quite a bit in the next release, rooms will be an object that you tag as well but they remain phase specific.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 27, 2006 at 12:05:15 AM | RE: Room Tag Numbers

#9

Beyonder


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 8, 2005
7 Posts
No Rating


I guess my only complaint with rooms being phase specific is that very often I have renovation projects where certain rooms survive the process unscathed (e.g. the bathroom adjoining the remodeled room). Perhaps they will consider a parameter which toggles whether or not rooms are phase specific.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 7, 2014 at 10:42:58 PM | Room Tag Numbers_Sheet Number

#10

ROBDEVEYRA


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 8, 2009
15 Posts
No Rating


Hi.

 

I'd like to create a room tag showing sheet number where the Enlarged Plan would be located.

Is this possible?

Robbi.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 7, 2014 at 10:43:00 PM | Room Tag Numbers_Sheet Number

#11

ROBDEVEYRA


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 8, 2009
15 Posts
No Rating


Hi.

 

I'd like to create a room tag showing sheet number where the Enlarged Plan would be located.

Is this possible?

Robbi.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 8, 2014 at 12:22:54 PM | Room Tag Numbers

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


You can not do this as a room tag.  You will have to add a callout.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Room Numbers in Schedules

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 25, 2006 at 9:26:56 PM

5

Matching Room Numbers in Area's and Room Tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 12, 2014 at 3:12:08 PM

2

Room names/numbers

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 21, 2018 at 7:00:24 PM

1

Room numbers

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 20, 2006 at 9:27:25 AM

1

Room tag not showing in only one room.

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Jun 10, 2019 at 1:46:03 AM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1567850

Objects:

21461

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2784

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights