RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

276 Users Online (129 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> lattices in curtain wall

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Apr 5, 2015 at 7:15:27 PM | lattices in curtain wall

#1

alarife


active
alarife Avatar

Joined: Mon, Oct 6, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi everybody!

 

I am trying to create a custom lattice family by using the template of a metric curtain wall panel.

 

I am able to create a solid panel (I know, so easy), and after that I start to modify the extrusion by using as a template a cad drawing imported into the family.

 

In theory all is ok, I can make all the holes necesssary for the lattice, and I can import this family into my model. The probkem staets when I try to change the glass panels of my curtain wall by chosing this lattice I have prepared. Impossible!!

 

Any suggestion? How can I do to create this custom lattice that I need?

 

Thank you!


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 6, 2015 at 12:40:40 PM | lattices in curtain wall

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Not enough information. 

 

The problem will be in your solid panel family.  You probably have geometry or voids that can not be created when the family is flexed in the project.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 6, 2015 at 2:11:56 PM | lattices in curtain wall

#3

alarife


active
alarife Avatar

Joined: Mon, Oct 6, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Thank you for your answer.

Surely the problem is in the fact that you point out, the lattice I had modeled had lots of complex voids -it was an arabic pattern- so surely it was impossible to flex when inserted in the curtain wall.

I have solved the problem by doing a model in situ, but that meant not using a curtain wall and doing other solution.

Anyway, thank you again and if somebody has any suggestion or has faced a similar problem before, please comment it!


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 6, 2015 at 2:18:26 PM | lattices in curtain wall

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Did you know that you can place any wall into a curtain wall panel location?  So the 'wall' could have been defined like you did with uour panel and you could have had a face based void family to cut holes in your wall.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 6, 2015 at 2:47:36 PM | lattices in curtain wall

#5

alarife


active
alarife Avatar

Joined: Mon, Oct 6, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I didn't know, I suppose that I should transform before the in model component into a wall.

I will try!

Thank you again


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 6, 2015 at 3:11:12 PM | lattices in curtain wall

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Using the process I described....

Pick the CW pandel and change it to the wall you re-defined.  In my case, it was a 1" solid wall.

Add a face based family that cuts the host.   Mine was much bigger than the area but no problem.



Attached Images

138276_Capture.JPG

This user is offline

 

Sun, May 24, 2015 at 2:46:25 PM | lattices in curtain wall

#7

alarife


active
alarife Avatar

Joined: Mon, Oct 6, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Hello WWHub!

After some weeks in which I was working on other projects, I started again to work with the pannels and lattices.

I have tried to follow the process that you told me but I can not create a face based family. The only way I found to create that was creating a panel with the exact dimension that it will have in the curtain wall, so it has not to flex.

Could you give me a more detailed explanation please?

I have seen in more recent posts that I am not the only one working in the middle east facing these problems, here lattices and mashrabiyas are everywere... Revit should create a plugin to design these features!

Thank you,

Alarife


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 26, 2015 at 1:39:46 PM | lattices in curtain wall

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


The process I used was all wall based, not curtain panel.   With CW's, you can assign a wall insetead of a curtain panel and it will flex with the curtain wall.  Then the void is a face based family applied to the face of the wall. 

 

To make the void, create a new family - generic, face based.  Create the void form as an extrusion and make it deep enough to cut your wall panel.  Set the void to cut the host.  Load it and place it.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Curtain Wall Panel to Curtain Wall Door

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 2:32:11 PM

7

Curtain wall not cutting through moulding

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Oct 22, 2015 at 7:53:44 PM

5

Splitting a curtain wall to change the type of wall it is

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 6, 2009 at 5:46:42 AM

5

Can't Put Curtain Wall Inside Stacked Wall??????? Help Needed

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 25, 2013 at 2:06:06 AM

4

curtain wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jan 10, 2009 at 4:01:35 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1690998

Objects:

22216

Forum Posts:

151746

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5983

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights