RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

245 Users Online (101 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> VG Filtering Walls by Different Base Contraints

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Mar 31, 2015 at 7:31:06 PM | VG Filtering Walls by Different Base Contraints

#1

revitdeco


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 31, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Hello,

 I am trying to create a rendering of a very complex building with lots of levels.  I'm trying to have the walls on the higher levels be more transparent, and gradually become less transparent as it gets down the the bottom level.  

I figured out how to do this with floors, because they have a "Filer by:" levels option, which surprisingly, walls do not.  

 

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Rick



Attached Images

138174_VG_Filter_Walls.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 1, 2015 at 12:02:08 PM | VG Filtering Walls by Different Base Contraints

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Add a project parameter called Floor Level or whatever you would like under the wall category and then it will show up in filters.  You would have to manually input this information but that is the only way I can think of to do this.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 1, 2015 at 1:16:33 PM | VG Filtering Walls by Different Base Contraints

#3

revitdeco


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 31, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the response.  

 

And that's the answer I was afraid of.  1,000+ walls, this will take a while.

 

Just doens't make sense why a built in parameter wouldn't be in the filter.

 

OH well.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 1, 2015 at 1:24:00 PM | VG Filtering Walls by Different Base Contraints

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


This is one of those places where Dynamo would probably work.   Read the walls hosting level and copy that to your parameter. 

 

Iv'e never used it yet.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 1, 2015 at 1:25:05 PM | VG Filtering Walls by Different Base Contraints

#5

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


It might not take that long, you don't need to physicall select each individual wall.  Just go to each floor plan and click on 1 wall type, right click and select all instances in view and it will only select those wall types on that level.  It will still be a process but a bit easier one.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 1, 2015 at 1:30:14 PM | VG Filtering Walls by Different Base Contraints

#6

revitdeco


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 31, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Yah good point.  

 

Work smarter, not harder.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 1, 2015 at 1:32:25 PM | VG Filtering Walls by Different Base Contraints

#7

revitdeco


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 31, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


So is there a way to have my parameter be linked to my current levels?

 

For example, I want the levels that I have created, to be the only options for that parameter.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 1, 2015 at 1:38:52 PM | VG Filtering Walls by Different Base Contraints

#8

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


No, it is just a text parameter that you would need to fill in.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 1, 2015 at 1:46:01 PM | VG Filtering Walls by Different Base Contraints

#9

revitdeco


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 31, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the help.

 

Already got it done, works perfectly.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 1, 2015 at 3:10:50 PM | VG Filtering Walls by Different Base Contraints

#10

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Could you attach an image of how it looks becoming more transparent?  I'm curious to see the outcome.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 1, 2015 at 3:22:28 PM | VG Filtering Walls by Different Base Contraints

#11

revitdeco


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 31, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Ya I'm still playing with it to try and get it to where I need it.  I'll share when I get something worthy of sharing.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Schedules - filtering by view or duplicate?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 28, 2014 at 1:24:36 PM

2

demo wall schedule "by floor"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 31, 2005 at 5:16:00 PM

0

Filter walls by floor level or base constraint??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jun 9, 2013 at 2:25:24 AM

3

filtering selections

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 12, 2006 at 4:52:55 PM

2

Worksets - Phasing - Phase Filtering Training Videos Now Available

Workflow & Implementation >> Training

Fri, Feb 24, 2006 at 2:32:50 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1689708

Objects:

22214

Forum Posts:

151745

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4466

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights