RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

312 Users Online (179 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> How to Create Stepped Footings

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Mar 25, 2015 at 2:22:14 PM | How to Create Stepped Footings

#1

jcgentry94


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 28, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I'm pretty new to Revit, so this may be a simple thing to do, but how would I go about creating a stepped footing with the bottom edge of the footing sloping upward. I already have the footing in the project, but they are supposed to be joined together. Any help out there? I've attached a screenshot of what it looks like now.



Attached Images

138047_Stepped_Footing.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 25, 2015 at 3:17:28 PM | How to Create Stepped Footings

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


Look at the images below.

  1. You really don't mean a sloped bottom but an overlap like shown on the left.  (I realized that may have a slightly sloped vertical edge in reality.)  And you don't want the step like on the right.
  2. Spit the wall vertically at the step so that the foundations are seperate for each step.  Now you can drag the control so the footings overlap and join.

If you really want a slopped bottom, you would have to build that yourself using model in place.

 



Attached Images

138048_Capture.JPG138048_Capture1.JPG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 25, 2015 at 3:44:01 PM | How to Create Stepped Footings

#3

jcgentry94


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 28, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Thanks. Yeah I ended up modeling it in place and just created an extrusion to get what I wanted. I just wish it was a more streamline operation within Revit.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 25, 2015 at 5:24:54 PM | How to Create Stepped Footings

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


Stream lined ... Like in CAD?   >>>> Joke I assume.

 

You can create a foundation family of the same material as your foundation to place in these transitions.  Easier and more flexible than an in-place.



Attached Images

138050_Capture.JPG138050_Capture1.JPG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 25, 2015 at 5:30:37 PM | How to Create Stepped Footings

#5

jcgentry94


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 28, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Oh okay. That looks easier. I'll try that out.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Footings for Slab Foundation

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Oct 30, 2007 at 12:05:08 PM

1

Stepped Roof with Overhand

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 25, 2013 at 3:40:43 PM

9

Rebar in Stepped Footing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 8, 2009 at 3:21:16 AM

1

Z-Bars for concrete footings

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Tue, Sep 25, 2007 at 3:03:57 PM

0

Auto Footings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 5, 2006 at 3:10:15 AM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1454032

Objects:

20602

Forum Posts:

150690

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7602

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights