RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

244 Users Online (114 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Subregions on Topography Take Ages to Process & Regenerate.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Mar 22, 2015 at 1:25:41 PM | Subregions on Topography Take Ages to Process & Regenerate.

#1

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Ok so I have a large site with a commercial hardware warehouse on it. I have placed about 170 survey levels to get the existing lie of the land. I have then used subregions to subdivide the topography sirface into carpark areas and pedestrian areas. The 2 subregions each have about 450 lines in them.

Every time I edit a subregions or pad ( I have 4  pads all at the same level) it takes ages to open the edit and ages when Im finished for Revi to process/regenerate the edit.

The model is only 25mB and I'm running it on an i7 macbook Wins 8.1 2.70Gh 16Gb.

Is this the wrong way to do what Im doing?. Should I be differentiating the carparks from the pedestrain areas from the site topo by using 2D filled regions instead?

Or is my laptop probabaly under specced?

Thanks in advance for your help.

 

 

 


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Sun, Mar 22, 2015 at 2:27:50 PM | Subregions on Topography Take Ages to Process & Regenerate.

#2

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Version is Revit 2014 thx


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Sun, Mar 22, 2015 at 2:31:46 PM | Subregions on Topography Take Ages to Process & Regenerate.

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


I don't use sub regions for this.  I simply spit the surface and apply a different material.

 

Are your points real points or have you just added them to force Revit to show the topgraphy like some arbitrary drafted CAD?


This user is offline

 

Sun, Mar 22, 2015 at 3:34:47 PM | Subregions on Topography Take Ages to Process & Regenerate.

#4

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Yep real points, each with differing z heights added within topo edit. I might try a quick experiment of splitting the earth from the pedestrian from the roads to see if it speeds it up,


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 23, 2015 at 12:24:12 PM | Subregions on Topography Take Ages to Process & Regenerate.

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 350 Votes


What I meant with real points was were they actual survey points?

 

Topography drawings are subjective - dependent on who drafts them or what program creates them.  Two different drawings that look different can both be correct.  What is important is the actual survey points or the control points added as required for building or drainage.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Gaps between Subregions

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 23, 2014 at 4:08:36 PM

2

Subregions and Topography

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 19, 2008 at 8:04:37 AM

9

problem pads and subregions , weird depression on topography

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Mar 22, 2015 at 6:46:45 PM

7

Tagging Subregions in Topography

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 21, 2012 at 12:45:10 PM

4

Regenerate....

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Feb 11, 2007 at 8:41:36 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1458594

Objects:

20592

Forum Posts:

150673

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.5421

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights