RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

199 Users Online (53 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Room Schedule showing all levels?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 1:29:15 PM | Room Schedule showing all levels?

#1

burtont


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 7, 2005
4 Posts
No Rating


I am trying to have room schedules calculate all of the usable area in my project. All is working well except... I can't seem to make the schedule show all levels. The schedule only shows the areas where rooms are placed. 

For example, this is what I'm trying to accomplish: (A schedule showing room areas, filtered by departments and sorted by level, showing all levels)

Level  Area

1 0 SF

2 0 SF

3 500 SF

4 1000 SF

 

Has anyone run into this issue before? Thanks in advance for your help.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 1:35:05 PM | Room Schedule showing all levels?

#2

burtont


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 7, 2005
4 Posts
No Rating


attached is the way the room schedules look. I have a schedule for each department like this. Circulation works well because there are rooms on every floor, but the rest of the departments do not have rooms on every floor and consequently won't show in the schedule.



Attached Images

137898_Circulation_Area.PNG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 1:48:56 PM | Room Schedule showing all levels?

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Your question is not clear. 

"...The schedule only shows the areas where rooms are placed..."  << Obviously, a room schedule will not include areas that are not rooms.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 2:25:28 PM | Room Schedule showing all levels?

#4

burtont


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 7, 2005
4 Posts
No Rating


Apologies for not wording my question more clearly. In schedules sorted by level, is there a way to have revit show levels with 0 SF (or doors, or equipment, or whatever).


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 2:44:58 PM | Room Schedule showing all levels?

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Again ... there has to be a room to schedule!

You can add equipment rooms.... even if you don't tag them in plan.  If you need to add room seperation lines to close the space then do that.

 

Otherwise, maybe you should be doing area plans and schedule rather than using rooms.

 

".. (or doors,..)" <<?   Why would you have a door and no room? What does a door have to do with a room schedule?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 3:49:08 PM | Room Schedule showing all levels?

#6

burtont


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 7, 2005
4 Posts
No Rating


We do use area plans/schedules for the traditional gross and rentable schemes which schedule nicely because there is sf on every level. We also already use rooms to differentiate space by department and occupancy. I wanted to leverage that room data and schedule the room areas and place them on a sheet next to the gross and rentable (which have all levels shown) so they all line up graphically. Unfortunately, revit will only schedule what is there.

The workflow currently in place currently is to get the raw data from revit (or cad on some projects), then manually input into excel to accomplish that chart (please save your soapbox rant about work with how revit works, I completely agree. If you want to try and convince my boss, be my guest).


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 4:02:02 PM | Room Schedule showing all levels?

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


No rant - just trying to understand what you are doing.

 

So far , we have that you want to schedule in a room schedule, areas from spaces that are not rooms but are on levels and might even be 0 sq ft.  << This is all very hard to understand but I am still trying.

 

I suggested that you place rooms to capture these areas... I don't understand why this will not work for you.  You can place these 'rooms' in a seperate category so they can be filtered out in your normal room schedule but will show in this schedule you want to do.

 

BTW - You write: "... then manually input into excel to accomplish that chart..."  If you open any Revit schedule, you can export that to a tab delimited txt file which can be directly opened in excel.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 5:53:19 PM | Room Schedule showing all levels?

#8

burtont


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 7, 2005
4 Posts
No Rating


I guess yesterday killed off more brain cells than I anticipated. Since pictures are worth 1000 words, please see attached lol.

The sheet I have in the model now is "Revit Schedules.png" which shows the areas. I'm trying to get "Revit Schedules - Hopefully.png" to look like "Excel Chart.png". The "Revit Schedules - Hopefully.png" is a copy of "Revit Schedules.png" without levels shown (which may look confusing now). I've decided to manually input the numbers into excel because I have multiple schedules going at once, but I do know you can export from Revit to excel, thanks for the heads up though. (and we can't afford any 3rd party plugin to link excel and revit schedules)

Hopefully this really clarifies my question. I'm just trying to keep everything in Revit reducing extra (and hopefully unnecessary) steps. If you think that using area plans/schedules would be easier than room schedules to accomplish this, then I am all ears. 

Thanks very much in advance and for dealing with my post st pattys day cryptography.

-BurtonT



Attached Images

137920_Revit_Schedules.PNG137920_Revit_Schedules_-_Hopefully.PNG137920_Excel_Chart.PNG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 18, 2015 at 6:54:34 PM | Room Schedule showing all levels?

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


I hate it when we are stuck with a visual process based on "How we do it".  That being said - you laid down the gauntlet.  Do you want it like this?

Extra 0 sf rooms can be filtered out of normal schedules.



Attached Images

137924_Capture.JPG

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 19, 2015 at 1:12:55 AM | Room Schedule showing all levels?

#10

burtont


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 7, 2005
4 Posts
No Rating


WWHub, you are a life saver, thank you very much. I also am personally not a fan of workarounds to fulfil the "this is how we do it" approach, but alas I don't sign my paycheck. Thank you again.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 19, 2015 at 9:13:22 PM | Room Schedule showing all levels?

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Glad to be a help.  A good challege like yours helps all of us.

 

I just have to add that those extra 0 sf rooms should be put in a design option so they don't interfere with anything.  Have the base design option have nothing and add these to the second option in that set then filter these schedules to include the DO.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Room names Not showing in Schedule [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 24, 2012 at 12:05:38 PM

20

Room finish Schedule showing Deleted Rooms

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 26, 2009 at 8:56:37 PM

1

Rooms not showing up in room schedule, please help

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Oct 27, 2012 at 3:52:34 PM

2

Schedules & Levels

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 24, 2006 at 8:08:54 PM

4

Room Schedule not updating

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 15, 2008 at 9:42:27 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1650848

Objects:

22098

Forum Posts:

151691

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7482

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights