RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

314 Users Online (149 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> WORKING WITH TWO LINKED DESIGN REVIT MODELS 2015

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Feb 20, 2015 at 3:47:44 PM | WORKING WITH TWO LINKED DESIGN REVIT MODELS 2015

#1

KYLIEBRAITHWAITE


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 6, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

I am working on a large project resulting in a large model in revit 2015. We were advised to split the design model into two parts to reduce the size of the revit file and we have currently been linking the two design models together via 'shared coordinates'.

We are now having difficulties with view templates. When we link the two models together, we cannot see annotations such as detail lines, text and room tags in the linked revit model.

We currently have the second file linked to the master model ‘by host view’. if we make this ‘by linked view’ we can bring through the room tags for each level of the second file however this would mean using a different view template for each level, which we don’t want to do. What is the best method to solve this problem?

We are also wondering are we going to have problems further down the line when it comes to scheduling using two linked design models instead of one single revit project. Is it best practice to avoid separate models for one discipline?

Is it possible to copy one model into another without disrupting the model and their levels etc? Or is this best avoided?

All advice welcome,

 

Kylie



Edited on: Fri, Feb 20, 2015 at 9:48:08 AM

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 20, 2015 at 4:27:39 PM | WORKING WITH TWO LINKED DESIGN REVIT MODELS 2015

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Sorry but whoever gave you that advice was wrong.   You are right that you will see all sorts of problems with schedules, tags etc.

 

What is a large model to you?  It may not really be too large but here are some tips:

  1. Avoid over-modeling or over-constraining your model (and walls) to keep the size smaller and less complicated.
  2. Your template should not contain everything you might use.  You can purge your file to get rid of families you will not need but be selective here.  DON'T PURGE ALL.
  3. ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS link CAD in seperate worksets that have the "Visible in all views' un checked.  Only turn it on in views where required.
  4. Link Revit files in seperate worksets where they can be turned off when not needed.
  5. Learn to use worksets properly (but don't overdo).  In very large projects, you can isolate portions of the work in seperate worksets that can be turned off in views.  Example - interiors is not on in our view except for interior views.  You might also use worksets for portions of the building ... by level(s) maybe.   << Be careful here and only do if necessary.  We place the exterior shell - windows, doors, walls, roof.  On a seperate workset.  Why have interior walls etc on in an exterior elevation view that makes Revit work at hiding everything?
  6. And here is a real advatage of worksets when using large files.  When you open the file, you have the option of only opening (loading) certain worksets and you can set this as your default.  While working, you can un-load or load any workset so all information is always available.  In large projects, we don't load any of the consultant links by default.
  7. While working, manage your open windows. 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 23, 2015 at 9:32:15 AM | WORKING WITH TWO LINKED DESIGN REVIT MODELS 2015

#3

KYLIEBRAITHWAITE


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 6, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Thank you for the tips WWHUB!

Is it possible to copy one model into another model succesfully? The two models have different levels. Do the levels copy accross with the model or is it a matter of remaking the second model in the first project?

 

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 23, 2015 at 2:04:13 PM | WORKING WITH TWO LINKED DESIGN REVIT MODELS 2015

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


You can bind a model in and that will bring in the levels as well. 

 

If the levels should be the same but were not copy monitored, then I would think about using copy/paste selecting and pasting by level.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Linked Revit Door Schedules not showing any data Revit 2015

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 3, 2015 at 5:07:22 PM

1

Working with Coordination models

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 8, 2020 at 4:01:18 PM

3

Setting Transparency to a linked model.

Community >> Newbies

Thu, May 14, 2015 at 8:06:09 AM

2

Linked Files and Design Options

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 9:33:11 PM

4

View Filters and Linked Models

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 29, 2017 at 12:53:31 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1651777

Objects:

22100

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.0267

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights