RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

327 Users Online (162 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> guardrails

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Dec 9, 2014 at 10:35:11 PM | guardrails

#1

integrity


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 19, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I would like to use a top and bottom rail of 1" square steel tubing. However, in the rail selection the smallest is 2". I suppose because the program thinks it is a stair rail requiring a minimum size. Is there a solution?

integrity


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 9, 2014 at 11:42:43 PM | guardrails

#2

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 23 Votes


A rail is just a profile. You can create your own, any shape you want.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Dec 13, 2014 at 1:58:37 PM | guardrails

#3

integrity


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 19, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


And how do I do this and then get it into the selection dialog?


This user is offline

 

Sat, Dec 13, 2014 at 5:37:55 PM | guardrails

#4

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 23 Votes


Which one are you trying to get - rail, top rail, or handrail?



Attached Images

136309_rail.JPG

This user is offline

 

Sun, Dec 14, 2014 at 2:33:39 PM | guardrails

#5

integrity


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 19, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I'm using Revit2011 and don't have that dialog. Is that the problem?


This user is offline

 

Sun, Dec 14, 2014 at 4:11:05 PM | guardrails

#6

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 23 Votes


No problem.

Use Profile-Rail.rft template (or Profile.rft if 2011 doesn’t have one and change profile usage to railing in properties), draw a profile you want and load it to you project. In the project, select the rail->type properties->edit (rail structure), your custom profile should be listed under profile heading.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Elevation Transparency

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 12, 2007 at 7:41:19 PM

0

Glass Guardrails/handrails

Community >> The Studio

Mon, Jul 31, 2006 at 4:39:18 PM

1

normal bed with variable height?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 11, 2012 at 11:03:28 AM

0

Connection Points

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 13, 2015 at 4:02:16 PM

0

Varying Baluster Heights

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 12, 2014 at 7:21:56 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1651777

Objects:

22100

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5520

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights