RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

234 Users Online (93 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> Worksets >> Worsets help

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Mar 12, 2006 at 11:22:17 PM | Worsets help

#1

carlosgt


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 3, 2005
40 Posts
No Rating


I have been trying to learn about worksets, but I found it a little hard. I know it can be very useful for visibility of objects (kind of layers in CAD) . Does anybody have more experience in this theme and give some information? I really appreciate it..

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 13, 2006 at 4:28:12 AM | RE: Worsets help

#2

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


you really need to read the help file to understand more, but in short, worksets are another set of filters, if you like. with worksets you can share a project among a few people allowing you to work together on the same file at the same time. you don't have to share with other people in order to use worksets, alot of people working alone on a project still using worksets, it allows them a greater control of visibility/graphic... (very short) Smile

-----------------------------------

Integrator

Architectural Engineering Construction

KarelCAD

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Mar 16, 2006 at 1:39:25 AM | RE: Worsets help

#3

3DLake


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 25, 2005
16 Posts
No Rating


I have used Worksets like layers or filters in my projects. I am designing my projects in a single person shop and not sharing the drawing with others electronically. I often have the following Worksets in my project (Exterior shell, interior, stairs, structure, site, mechanical and finish). Note: Many places I have read that this is not the proper use of worksets. In my experience the worksets feature seems to work well to provide a “layers” feature and Revit does not appear to offer a different official way to add this type of structure to projects. Some comments to get you started: Once you turn on worksets for a project it can’t be undone. Take an existing project and copy it for practice and testing. When you go to draw a new object and usually check properties before you get started just make sure you are drawing in the workset that you want. www.dgcad.com has a good intro video tutorial lesson to help the learning curve. The best way to learn worksets for me has been to practice using them. -Loren

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Mar 16, 2006 at 2:17:27 AM | RE: Worsets help

#4

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


What ever you do, don't use worksets as a replacements for layers. You can find some excellent training resources at http://www.dgcad.com/ best regards, coreed,aia

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 22, 2006 at 3:25:09 PM | RE: Worksets help

#5

3DLake


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 25, 2005
16 Posts
No Rating


Many in these discussions on Revitcity have suggested to NOT use Worksets as a way to implement a layer feature in Revit projects. If not Worksets for layers - what do you suggest? Thanks -Loren

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 1, 2008 at 11:41:40 PM | Worsets help

#6

eglover


active
eglover Avatar

Joined: Wed, Oct 29, 2008
7 Posts
No Rating


We are trying to use them to coordinate work by different people. For example, people working on electrical elements occasionally grab mechanical elements, and then end up owning mechanical equipment. This can cause problems if someone needs those elements at the same time. Worksets make it easier to safeguard against accidentally borrowing elements that you don't need, because you can set it to only edit things in your workset.

-----------------------------------

~E

{Having fun with family building}

Running Revit MEP 2009 on Windows XP

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 2, 2008 at 12:15:41 AM | Worsets help

#7

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


mate,

you don't really need to use worksets for that, one can borrow elements without owning a worksets, just remember to save to central and relenquish often...


-----------------------------------

Integrator

Architectural Engineering Construction

KarelCAD

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Dec 2, 2008 at 4:13:16 PM | Worsets help

#8

eglover


active
eglover Avatar

Joined: Wed, Oct 29, 2008
7 Posts
No Rating


It is true that one can borrow elements without owning a workset, but that is actually where most of our issues occur. People borrow elements without knowing they have because they accidentally clicked them while trying to move, select, or change something else. Then we have someone who ends up running all over the building to try to get someone (often in different discipline) to save to central and relinquish borrowed elements that they shouldn't have had in the first place.

Saving to central often is crucial regardless, but often the timing works out so that it doesn't avoid problems all the time.


-----------------------------------

~E

{Having fun with family building}

Running Revit MEP 2009 on Windows XP

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 2, 2008 at 5:33:22 PM | Worsets help

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


When someone else has borrowed something, REVIT will tell you who that is so you should not have to run all over...  With relese 9, you can also use an add on package that allows members of the project to monitor and grant requests .... works like an instant messenger.  Not perfect but it helps.

 

In any case, company rules should be that all users must save to central periodically and at the very least, relinquish all mine.  If a user, manager - designer, is just reviewing a project .... possible grabbing items ... they probably should open a detached copy.

 

We are all struggling with these issues and developing new office rules.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Crazy Toposurface! Hard Questions for Advanced Users.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 26, 2008 at 6:48:06 PM

0

adding multiple boundaries on the one site + multi house documentation help pls

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Jan 15, 2016 at 1:34:31 PM

0

large scale projects in REVIT

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, May 25, 2013 at 2:34:52 PM

0

Wall Join Options Disappear

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 23, 2013 at 6:08:26 PM

0

OWNERSHIP BETWEEN LINKED MODELS

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 21, 2009 at 7:17:08 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1692293

Objects:

22218

Forum Posts:

151748

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1634

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights