RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

186 Users Online (75 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Existing Building model for partial renovation

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 8:40:44 PM | Existing Building model for partial renovation

#1

aharris509


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
10 Posts
No Rating


We are renovating about 25,000 s.f. on the 6th floor of a 9 story 1,000,000+s.f. hospital. Obviously we are not going to model the whole facility, we will be modeling the project area + a bit more if needed. My question is about the levels. What is everyone else doing? Would you place all the levels in the model and draw up on the 6th level, even thou you are only modeling the project area, or would you just draw the project area on the default level @ 0' and just rename it to be the 6th floor level?

Thanks, Al


This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 8:53:52 PM | Existing Building model for partial renovation

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 46 Votes


It depends on what you are going to be doing for schedules.  In my opinion I would draw the levels and create the floor plan where it is in reality.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 9:15:44 PM | Existing Building model for partial renovation

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


You only need one level and maybe the one above.   If you need more afterwards, you can add them downward.   The project location could be set anywhere you want.



Edited on: Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 3:23:47 PM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Using Revit for a partial renovation

Community >> The Studio

Thu, Jul 24, 2008 at 5:56:42 PM

3

Should i use the existing Revit Model to create a new building addition?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 19, 2011 at 1:07:22 PM

3

Using Linked Revit Files... How many?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 9, 2012 at 7:46:53 PM

4

miltiple phases in a renovation/addition

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 23, 2013 at 1:09:47 PM

3

Opinions on how you would model this?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 29, 2013 at 7:28:51 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1840428

Objects:

22618

Forum Posts:

152040

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7677

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights