RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

201 Users Online (91 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Copying text & dims from one file to another in 2012

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Nov 24, 2014 at 5:12:56 AM | Copying text & dims from one file to another in 2012

#1

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


I inadvertantly started working on the wrong file to pick up on a project that has been on hold for 3 months. So I have a new file that I want to keep but there are floor layouts with the same model geometry but with text & dimensions that I need to carry on in the new file. How do I grab all the text or dimensions from a file & paste it into another. Is it just copy & paste, ctrl c to ctrl v ??


-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 24, 2014 at 2:10:38 PM | Copying text & dims from one file to another in 2012

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 44 Votes


 "Is it just copy & paste, ctrl c to ctrl v ??" Did you try this? What happens when you do?  If everthing is the same the dimensions will copy without a problem, it there is a difference you can't copy the dimension.  The text is just annotation so that will copy wherever you want it.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 24, 2014 at 2:13:54 PM | Copying text & dims from one file to another in 2012

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


If the files are not the same model elements then dimensions and tags will not copy/paste.   All other annotative elements will.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 25, 2014 at 11:22:34 PM | Copying text & dims from one file to another in 2012

#4

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


Thanks.

Yes I was able to copy paste the text, but for some reason it came through rotated 90deg out. The two models are the same rotation. I was able to copy the dimensions as well, a few did not copy (only 3 out of 50). 


-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

exporting point info from revit structure into a text file

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 24, 2012 at 5:20:44 PM

1

Revit 2012 Sheets & Model Space / Paper space in CAD

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 12, 2013 at 11:36:59 AM

3

Text formatting (bullets & indents)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 1:49:15 AM

1

Can there be two types of dimesions...

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 3, 2007 at 4:23:37 PM

0

Worksets: Copying from one drawing to another?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 5, 2010 at 10:53:39 PM

9

Site Stats

Members:

1472982

Objects:

21050

Forum Posts:

151013

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.6820

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights