RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

204 Users Online (91 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> Best Tip I can Give: Revit 2015 R2 - Install It Immediately!

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 2:12:03 PM | Best Tip I can Give: Revit 2015 R2 - Install It Immediately!

#1

ArchAddict


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 2, 2009
36 Posts
No Rating


Got notified of 2015 R2 today. Some AWESOME improvements... better than the annual release!

Pretty Much everything under productivity are amazing new features we've been asking for, and i'll take all the performance updates i can get

From Autodesk:

 

Autodesk Revit 2015 R2
Release Date: 2014-09-17
 

With Autodesk® Revit® 2015 R2, Autodesk Maintenance and Desktop Subscription customers get access now to new features that add powerful capabilities, make Revit perform faster, and can improve modeling productivity. Fully compatible with Revit 2015 releases, Revit 2015 R2 installs without disrupting ongoing work in Revit 2015. Power: Revit 2015 R2 includes new features that enable you to do more with Revit.

  • Share more accurately predicted energy performance information in custom dashboards with Project Solon integrated into Revit.
  • Use existing geometry in a linked IFC model as a reference for dimensions, alignment, snapping, and hosting of some families in a Revit model.
  • Troubleshoot models better with the Reveal Constraints mode making all dimension alignment constraints in a view visible.
  • Explore visual programming with the Dynamo interface for computational design which now installs with Revit so you can more easily enhance and extend the power of the Revit API. 

Performance: Autodesk Revit R2 meets requests for faster software performance with the goal of making your work easier.

  • Edit and regenerate complex toposurfaces, subregions, and building pads.
  • Get better performance of the energy analytical model in Revit, with Revit R2 using less memory when analyzing large models.
  • Experience faster updates to views that contain multiple instances of families.
  • See faster display of Revit links within views.

Productivity: You’ll welcome multiple enhancements in Revit R2 designed to improve your modeling and work productivity.

  • Work in perspective views, making quick adjustments without having to change views with some modeling capabilities now available in perspective views.
  • Save more time by editing multiple wall joins together
  • Find content more quickly with Search capabilities in the Type Selector and all drop-down lists.
  • Navigate PDFs exported from Revit more quickly with hyperlinked views.
  • Experience easier interaction with structural elements through user interface improvements.
  • Improve productivity with more streamlined Rebar modeling and shop drawings creation.
 

For a complete list of enhancements to your product, refer to the Autodesk Revit 2015 Update Enhancements List or Autodesk Revit LT 2015 Update Enhancements List

*Autodesk Revit 2015 software is only available as part of the Autodesk® Building Design Suite 2015 Premium and Ultimate Editions and Autodesk® Infrastructure Design Suite 2015 Ultimate Edition.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 4:33:25 PM | Best Tip I can Give: Revit 2015 R2 - Install It Immediately!

#2

truevisdotcom


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 15, 2005
2 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


"Autodesk Revit Architecture 2015 Update Release 3" came out in June: http://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/revit-products/downloads/caas/downloads/content/autodesk-revit-architecture-2015-update-release-3.html?v=2015


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 5:33:18 PM | Best Tip I can Give: Revit 2015 R2 - Install It Immediately!

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


truevisdotcom,

As far as I can see, AutoDesk has once again screwed up their process.  This is NOT Update release 2, it is a re-release.  Here is what it says on their page:

"Release Date: 2014-09-17"

 

"This subscription only release delivers user-requested features that add capabilities, enhance software performance, and improve user productivity along with issues reported directly to Autodesk. The update also contains the fixes provided within Autodesk Revit Update Release 1, 2, 3, 4 and Multi-Category Schedules Hotfix for Update Release 3."

 

So this is really update release 5 (I think) but how stupid is that?????  I wonder ...Does anybody with a brain work in their subscription department?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 5:45:13 PM | Best Tip I can Give: Revit 2015 R2 - Install It Immediately!

#4

truevisdotcom


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 15, 2005
2 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Ooh, I could really user UR "5". I crashed Revit 2015 all morning attempting to edit a topo surface. I ended up exporting it out to DWG at 3" topo with 3" topo line increments, linking the DWG back in, and recreating the topo surface from the DWG link. 

I wonder if Adesk has fixed that bug. 

Would you share a URL for the download?

 



Edited on: Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 12:48:57 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 5:57:09 PM | Best Tip I can Give: Revit 2015 R2 - Install It Immediately!

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


The download is available on the subscription site.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 6:38:57 PM | Best Tip I can Give: Revit 2015 R2 - Install It Immediately!

#6

truevisdotcom


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 15, 2005
2 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Found at http://subscription.autodesk.com/sp/servlet/download/item?siteID=11564774&id=23734178

 

The Update Enhancement List says:

"Improvements made in Update Release 4 build (20140903_1530): "

 

My "About" now lists "Build: 20140905_0730(x64) Update Release 4"



Edited on: Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 6:43:19 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 11:15:58 PM | Best Tip I can Give: Revit 2015 R2 - Install It Immediately!

#7

mansell5


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 14, 2009
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


any improvements to the wonderful ......wiggly lines?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 11:49:34 PM | Best Tip I can Give: Revit 2015 R2 - Install It Immediately!

#8

truevisdotcom


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 15, 2005
2 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


They claim to let us now "Work in perspective views, making quick adjustments without having to change views with some modeling capabilities now available in perspective views."

Exciting prospect, but I see no change. We've always been able to change parameters in perspective views -- that couldn't be it. Anyone else see an improvement?

Mansell5, I see no Sketchy Lines change. They still don't work on arcs.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 25, 2014 at 12:17:22 AM | Best Tip I can Give: Revit 2015 R2 - Install It Immediately!

#9

mansell5


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 14, 2009
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


i was hoping for some easier stairs, balustrades and railings especially joins and transitions at landings etc.

like chief architect and archicad can do


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 25, 2014 at 5:46:21 PM | Best Tip I can Give: Revit 2015 R2 - Install It Immediately!

#10

tharkins


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2003
2 Posts
No Rating


Installed R2 last Thursday. Very happy with the new tools and improvements so far. Especially the site tools. Something I've been waiting for for a looooong time.

To me this appears to be what AutoDesk wanted to release as the true R15 but the tools just weren't ready at the time. I get the feeling this is AutoDesks move towards smaller intermediate releases as tools become available instead of full-blown yearly releases. I, for one, would prefer this method as it would lead to less disruption.

The one big issue I've had so far, if I go to make adjustements on any component in Revit it tells me the family is corrupt and I need to reload it. Can't edit, save, open, nothing. The only thing I can do is either right-click and reload the family or open the family directly and load it in to the project. More of an annoyance until they fix the problem. By the way, you may notice a new tool in the family creator labeled Load Into Project and Close. Nice little addition and saves you from having to load the family and then go back and manualy close it. Also the ability to now search in the Reference View box! Thank you!!!. Searching thru a few hundred views, even with a good naming convention was far too time consuming. As far as working in perspective views, it's limited to only a few functions, like align. We'll see where that one goes. The hyperlinks in the PDF files is also a nice addition. Now if they can find a way to hyperlink the individual sheets to the drawing list.

Every user is going to have some issue they've been waiting forever to get 'fixed', 'updated', 'added', etc. For example I think the text editor is horrendous and AutoDesk should be embarrased with it's functionality but this really is a decent release and I highly recommend getting it installed.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 18, 2014 at 7:09:31 PM | Best Tip I can Give: Revit 2015 R2 - Install It Immediately!

#11

noahragarch


active

Joined: Tue, May 8, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


R2 has a major problem, and our company is not the only one experiencing it.  The essential problem is that dimensioning walls in links has become.... frustrating.  The ability to tab into different references (wall face, core face, etc.) is gone.  At least the ability to see those references being highlighted is gone, and dimensioning to them becomes something of a guesswork matter.  Clearly, dimensioning is not the type of process where we want to have to guess the right reference.  This is a terrible problem and needs to be on Autodesk's top priority.  We are currently uninstalling R2 and reinstalling Revit without the update.

BTW, I am aware of the select links/pinned elements/etc. options.  I have yet to find a rhyme or reason to this bug other than the fact that it only happens with linked models. 

I read one Autodesk team member's description of R2, which included a response to the Readme's statement that R2 "improves visual fidelity with surface types which contain singularities.."  His explanation was that "this is basically describing a situation when a surface on certain elements in specific situations when generated in a view contains a math error making the view not display or not look correct or might cause the view to close. In this case "singularity" is a math term." 

It may be that these are related issues.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2015 Install Error

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Tue, May 20, 2014 at 2:24:55 PM

5

Revit will only let me install Design Review

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 9, 2011 at 4:46:03 PM

3

Opening a 2015 drawing in Revit 2014

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Jul 29, 2014 at 2:11:58 PM

5

AutoCAD 2015 Lines Scramble when imported into Revit 2015

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 7, 2015 at 8:23:06 PM

2

Revit 2015 Ultimate / Standard compatibility?

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Wed, Oct 1, 2014 at 11:10:21 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1460951

Objects:

20473

Forum Posts:

150566

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.2571

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights