Forums
Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> If/Then & Yes/No Parameter Condition
|
|
active
Joined: Mon, Feb 10, 2014
0 Posts
 |
I'm trying to create a condition in a family where a dimension changes depending on which Yes/No parameter is checked. Here's an example of what I want to do:
Let's say I have a wall-based family of a wall-mounted panel. I have a length type parameter that measures how far the panel projects from the face of the wall it's hosted to. Let's call this parameter "Depth". I then have three Yes/No parameters called "A", "B", and "C".
I want to make a formula for the "Depth" parameter that creates the following condition:
If only "A" is checked, then "Depth" = 2". If only "B" is checked, then "Depth" = 4.5". If only "C" is checked, then "Depth" = 8". In any other condition (meaning if none are checked or if more than one are checked), then "Depth" = 1".
Is it possible to create this condition in Revit?
|
This user is offline |
|
 |
|
active
Joined: Thu, Mar 29, 2012
113 Posts
 |
hi =)
try and derive from this:
if(and(A, B), 1 mm, if(and(A, C), 1 mm, if(and(B, C), 1 mm, if(A, 2 mm, if(B, 4.5 mm, if(C, 8 mm, 1 mm))))))
|
This user is offline |
|
 |
active
Joined: Mon, Feb 10, 2014
0 Posts
 |
Beautiful!! That worked!!! Thank you very much!!!
I've been having such a hard time getting used to the syntax of formulas, especially when I'm trying to get multiple values like in this situation.
|
This user is offline |
|
 |
active
Joined: Mon, Feb 10, 2014
0 Posts
 |
*BONUS QUESTION!!!*
Is there a formula I can apply to the three Yes/No parameters so that when I check one of the three, the other two automatically uncheck?
Ideally, I want it so that only one Yes/No parameter can be checked at a time. For example, if "A", "B", and "C" are Yes/No parameters and "A" is checked, then "B" and "C" should automatically be unchecked. If I check "B", the "A" and "C" should automatically be unchecked, etc.
I can get this to work when there are only two Yes/No parameters. For instance, if there's only "A" and "B", I can apply the formula "A" = not("B"). But I can't seem to apply this same logic when there's more than 2 Yes?No parameters.
|
This user is offline |
|
 |
active
Joined: Mon, Mar 28, 2011
0 Posts No Rating |
I have attempted the procedure you describe in the bonus question, but have never found a way to get it to truly work. I would be interested if someone else could enlighten us both.
My work-around at the time was to nest my individual A, B, and C's into a parent family, and control them with a family type parameter.
|
This user is offline |
|
 |
 |
Similar Threads |
Yes/No Conditional on No/Yes |
Revit Building >> Technical Support
|
Tue, Nov 11, 2008 at 12:21:06 PM
|
1
|
Editing end of canted wall condition |
Revit Building >> Technical Support
|
Sun, Nov 4, 2012 at 2:47:30 PM
|
3
|
Yes/No Parameter |
Revit Building >> Technical Support
|
Thu, May 28, 2009 at 2:06:40 PM
|
1
|
Sloped-Sill Condition |
Revit Building >> Technical Support
|
Fri, Mar 12, 2010 at 1:24:36 PM
|
5
|
IF with Yes/No Condition |
Community >> Newbies
|
Tue, Apr 21, 2009 at 8:34:51 AM
|
3
|
 |
|
Site Stats
Members: | 2091830 | Objects: | 23147 | Forum Posts: | 152289 | Job Listings: | 3 |
|