RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

323 Users Online (191 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Turn off level lines in a linked model

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Aug 21, 2014 at 6:27:34 AM | Turn off level lines in a linked model

#1

Akau


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 1, 2005
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi

I want to turn off the level lines in my linked model, i have turned them off in the model but they are still there in the host project.

 

Can anyone help please

 



Attached Images

133681_Linked_Model_level_lines.JPG

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 21, 2014 at 12:17:26 PM | Turn off level lines in a linked model

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


In all views, you can control the visibility of linked file categories through the VG tab/linked.  The default setting is to use the VG settings of the host view.  Change that to be independent and then set the VG for the link.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 26, 2014 at 5:41:57 AM | Turn off level lines in a linked model

#3

Akau


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 1, 2005
0 Posts
No Rating


Thank you, good infomation, I am back on track again.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 28, 2014 at 1:36:26 PM | Turn off level lines in a linked model

#4

Sofus


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 12, 2007
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi

We use links often, and have a different way of doing this:

In the link, we have levels and grids on 'Shared Levels and Grid' workset.

In the host, we have levels and grids on a new 'Levels and Grids' workset. If you turn of visibility of 'Shared Levels and Grids' workset in the host file, all linked levels and grids will be turned of for the entire host file.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 28, 2014 at 2:07:22 PM | Turn off level lines in a linked model

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


Sofus,

Your process can be problematic.  Typically when you start a project, you establish levels and grids on the shared levels and grids workset.  That is what it was created for.  As a matter of fact, If you dtart a project then establish worksharing, Revit will automatically place your levels and grids on that workset. 

 

It seems you are just confusing everyone.  Controlling the linked model through linked VG is the normal process for everyone that I have seen post.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 28, 2014 at 3:04:01 PM | Turn off level lines in a linked model

#6

Sofus


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 12, 2007
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Dear WWHub

From previous posts I get a feeling that you don't use/like links, but we use them in big projects with many Revit users, to keep the files lean and limit the number of users in same file, as recommended by ADSK. My way of using worksets, makes it very fast and easy to turn of levels and grids when linking.

Revit will place levels and grids on 'Shared L&G' workset in the link file, so no work needs to be done there. In the host a new workset is created called 'L&G', and all levels and grids are moved to that one. With select all, this only takes a few clicks, and then on/off for the entire project with 'Shared L&G' is only 3 clicks away.

If you control them by view templates it's 15 clicks away, for all 90 view templates I have in my current project, and on/off is also 15 clicks away. 

I respect that this can be done in different ways, but typically and normal process is not always the smartest. Many people are not aware that you can control visibility of linked elements with worksets, that is properly why they don't use it.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 28, 2014 at 3:42:47 PM | Turn off level lines in a linked model

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


I've been using links since prior to Revit 9. (Not 2009)

 

It sounds like you don't know how to use view templates to control your views because there is no 15 clicks to use them.  View templates are typically applied when you start a view and are applied to multiple views of the same type, they are typically NOT unique to each view.



Edited on: Thu, Aug 28, 2014 at 10:43:43 AM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Model lines in LINKED files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 19, 2013 at 2:48:35 PM

3

Linked model reference lines showing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 10, 2012 at 3:28:59 PM

2

Cannot turn off levels in linked file

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 22, 2013 at 1:21:14 PM

6

turn on/off worksets in a linked model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 8, 2017 at 8:39:16 PM

2

Graphic Issue

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 6, 2010 at 12:19:43 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1823855

Objects:

22585

Forum Posts:

152011

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9832

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights