RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

155 Users Online (81 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> Floors and Floors again....

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Aug 15, 2014 at 7:46:41 AM | Floors and Floors again....

#1

Reddrev


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 5, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


I watched a Revit tutorial (Lynda.com) about floors...   The video explained using two floors, one for structure and one for the "finish"  as finishes can change from area to area etc.   This does make sense, but it got me thinking....   What is the best workflow for floors?  Use a different floor on top of a "structural" floor, or split the surface etc?

 

In revit terms, what is the difference between a structural floor and a standard floor?

 

When creating floors and roofs etc, I switch to black background, so much easier to see my errors!  Be good to be able to toggle via a keystroke,  black and white screens, as I find my self switching a lot between these two.  Maybe an external macro would do the  trick

 

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 15, 2014 at 12:28:22 PM | Floors and Floors again....

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


What do you want from your model? 

If you want quantities then split face is bad and thin floors for finishes is best.

 

I think using a black background doesn't help with anything ... but then maybe you are not using black lines but trying to do CAD.   Don't do that.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 25, 2019 at 6:46:41 PM | Floors and Floors again....

#3

hanbyjm


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 3, 2018
0 Posts
No Rating


Using a black screen helps with less strain on my eyes.  I make 2 floors with my models.  1 is the slab and the other is the finished material.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Grouping Floors

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 22, 2005 at 8:47:49 PM

1

Joining the Geometry of two floors

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, May 14, 2008 at 10:46:12 AM

1

copying floors up

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jul 25, 2015 at 12:49:27 PM

4

Dead horse still kicking - walls and floors strategy

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 2, 2007 at 6:36:25 PM

0

Progataing property lines to floors

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Mar 18, 2011 at 9:25:43 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1424026

Objects:

20413

Forum Posts:

150478

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1052

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights