RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

192 Users Online (96 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> If Statement in Schedules' Calculated Value

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 10:59:37 AM | If Statement in Schedules' Calculated Value

#1

pleojera


active
pleojera Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 16, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi,I am trying to calculate different calculations according to "Material: Mark". For example, i have 2 materials whose marks are "" and "". I want it to calculate ParameterA*ParameterB if mark is and vice versa.But when i click OK, it says "m² is not a valid schedule field." Here is my IF statement:      IF (Material: Mark = m², "ParameterA*ParameterB", "ParameterC*ParameterD")             Any suggestion? 

 

Edited on: Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 6:07:28 AM

Edited on: Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 8:57:26 AM



Edited on: Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 9:35:37 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 12:39:47 PM | If Statement in Schedules' Calculated Value

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


If you would read your HELP (Always the first place to start): http://help.autodesk.com/view/RVT/2014/ENU/?guid=GUID-A0FA7A2C-9C1D-40F3-A808-73CD0A4A3F20 then you would see:

IF with a text parameter: =IF (Length > 35', “String1”, “String2&rdquoWinking


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 1:39:42 PM | WWHub

#3

pleojera


active
pleojera Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 16, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting WWHub from 2014-08-13 07:39:47

"

If you would read your HELP (Always the first place to start): http://help.autodesk.com/view/RVT/2014/ENU/?guid=GUID-A0FA7A2C-9C1D-40F3-A808-73CD0A4A3F20 then you would see:

IF with a text parameter: =IF (Length > 35', “String1”, “String2&rdquoWinking

 

 I did read actually. Still couldn't figure it out. My condition is being m² or being m³. But it says, "the following is not a valid schedule field : m²" 



Edited on: Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 8:40:10 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 1:53:45 PM | If Statement in Schedules' Calculated Value

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


Look again at the help.  What type of parameter is your mark?  I am assuming it is text.... whell then when you look at the Help, you see that strings (text) have to be enclosed in "XXXX". 

 

In addition, Revit doesn't understand mixed case.  So do you really want M2 and M3 instead of what you are trying to do?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 2:09:37 PM | WWHub

#5

pleojera


active
pleojera Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 16, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting WWHub from 2014-08-13 08:53:45

"

Look again at the help.  What type of parameter is your mark?  I am assuming it is text.... whell then when you look at the Help, you see that strings (text) have to be enclosed in "XXXX". 

 

In addition, Revit doesn't understand mixed case.  So do you really want M2 and M3 instead of what you are trying to do?

"

Thank you very much for your patience Smile Yes, it is text. But it doesn't matter if it is m³ or ABC. It is still saying "not valid schedule field."  If it is not too much to ask; could you please write it for me to try? What i want is, if "Material: Mark" is "m²", it should multiply "Malzeme Miktar M²" and "Material: Cost". If it is not "m²" (or if it is "m³"), it should multiply "Malzeme Miktar M³" and "Material: Cost".  Thanks by now.



Edited on: Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 9:11:29 AM

Attached Images

133530_Ekran_Alntsa.JPG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 3:07:10 PM | If Statement in Schedules' Calculated Value

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


You don't seem to understand....

Your units have to be correct!  Text is text and must have " quotes" around it!  What unit type is material mark?  A material Mark is text!  In addition, can not exist in Revit as text or as a number!!!!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 3:13:19 PM | If Statement in Schedules' Calculated Value

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


In addition, You can't multiply text!

 

If (Material = "ABC", Number1* Number2, Number3)  <<< Numbers are numbers - Material is text.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 13, 2014 at 3:48:19 PM | WWHub

#8

pleojera


active
pleojera Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 16, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting WWHub from 2014-08-13 10:13:19

"

In addition, You can't multiply text!

 

If (Material = "ABC", Number1* Number2, Number3)  <<< Numbers are numbers - Material is text.

 

Oh no no. Multiply ones are already regular numbers. I misunderstood you, sorry. I suppose i have to duplicate material cost too ( i forgot this, yeap) as numbers and change special characters in material mark. Thanks for your help! (i am trying to read, reply and understand while i am on my phone and in a crowded bus Smile i accidently pressed and reported your previous message as offensive. Sorry about that too. Smile )   Gosh what a terrible day! 

 

 

 

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

if yes/no statement controlled by if yes/no statement

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 22, 2013 at 10:08:26 PM

6

Calculated Value

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 13, 2010 at 10:46:58 PM

3

Help with If then statement [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 5, 2009 at 7:19:10 PM

17

OCCUPANT LOAD FROM CALCULATED VALUE/IF STATEMENT

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 21, 2008 at 5:42:14 PM

1

Schedule Calculated Values

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 27, 2015 at 5:05:13 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1820631

Objects:

22574

Forum Posts:

152006

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3791

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights