RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

397 Users Online (212 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit always renders all of the lights

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 6, 2014 at 6:46:45 PM | Revit always renders all of the lights

#1

rwohlfor


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 17, 2011
0 Posts
No Rating


I'm using Revit 2014. Whenever I render using artificial lights, the rendering progress dialog shows that all of the hundreds of lights in the project are being included.

The artificial lights selection dialog seems to have no effect. I can select some of the lights or even none at all, and revit still just renders all of them.

I've sucessfully rendered with selections of artificial lights in the same project in the past. I also had the same problem temporarily a couple days ago, but it fixed itself without me ever figuring out what was goign on.

Any ideas about what could be happening?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 6, 2014 at 7:55:10 PM | Revit always renders all of the lights

Thread Post Kudo! #2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


Best practice is to use light groups - read this help section:

http://help.autodesk.com/view/RVT/2014/ENU/?guid=GUID-95718012-8003-4697-A568-87D26DAF073D


This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 7, 2014 at 6:19:42 PM | Revit always renders all of the lights

#3

rwohlfor


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 17, 2011
0 Posts
No Rating


Creating a section box around the geometry to be rendered seems to have worked for me. This is more than a adiquate workaround, becuase it's something you'd do anyway to make the rendering faster. I suspect that the proplem was caused by the lights being part of a model group as well as a light group.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 8, 2014 at 2:24:36 PM | Revit always renders all of the lights

#4

oneworld279


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 2, 2013
24 Posts
No Rating


 

I know exactly what you are dealing with. I had this problem for months and finally this trick worked for me. Not sure if it's right or wrong but worked for me. When you open the 'Artificial Lights' dialog box and you have all your grouped lights ticked. So before rendering, un-tick all the lights (doesn't matter grouped or not) and then tick them back on. I know this sounds funny and weird, but it worked for me. Believe. Is it a revit bug or some functionality that I don’t know yet, no answer?? Also, when you try let me know if it worked.



Attached Images

133424_Lights_On_Off.JPG

-----------------------------------

In Solidarity

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Renders with artificial lighting on result in high saturation and black patches

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 22, 2016 at 12:29:28 AM

1

Lighting

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 1, 2011 at 5:44:27 PM

1

Renders - Revit 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 20, 2010 at 10:17:02 AM

1

exporing revit 09 to 3ds max with lights???

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 2, 2009 at 10:53:27 AM

1

Having trouble rendering large room with artificial lighting

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Jul 7, 2008 at 1:31:40 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1530911

Objects:

21318

Forum Posts:

151314

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.8469

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights