RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

189 Users Online (65 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Linked Model Showing In 3D View Only

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Aug 5, 2014 at 5:34:59 PM | Linked Model Showing In 3D View Only

#1

TerribleTim


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 18, 2010
23 Posts
No Rating


Hey guys,

I've searched for an answer to this one for a couple hours now, and found nothing. I have a linked model that is showing just fine in the 3D view, but won't show up in any other view. I've attached a screen shot of the two views (3D and Plan) for comparison. I've already opened the linked model to check a few things. They are NOT using worksharing. The phase settings have not been changed from the stock "Existing" and "New Construction", so those match in my model as well. I checked the VG settings in my plan view. The linked model is set to show. I checked the "manage linked models" settings, it is set to show there as well. I'm stumped. Anyone got some ideas?



Attached Images

133319_3Dview.JPG133319_PlanView.JPG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 5, 2014 at 5:35:50 PM | Linked Model Showing In 3D View Only

#2

TerribleTim


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 18, 2010
23 Posts
No Rating


Forgot to add, this is Revit 2014.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 5, 2014 at 5:42:41 PM | Linked Model Showing In 3D View Only

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Your image doesn't mean much.  Is this whole thing the linked file or just part of it?  Always mark up your posted image using paint or something else to tell us what is going on.

 

I'm going to assume that this whole thing is the link.  That being the case, go to an elevation view, uncrop it and type ZA.  (Try other elevations if necessary)  I will bet this linked building is well above or below your plan levels.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 5, 2014 at 5:48:59 PM | Linked Model Showing In 3D View Only

#4

TerribleTim


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 18, 2010
23 Posts
No Rating


WWhub - Sorry, yes the entire thing is the linked model. I did create an elevation to check and see if it was "up in the air". Nope. And when I open the linked model, the main floor is set to 0'-0" elevation, just like my floor plan is. If I create any sort of elevation or section, then open it and zoom to extents, all I see are the two work planes from the linked model, just like the plan view.



Edited on: Tue, Aug 5, 2014 at 12:52:54 PM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 5, 2014 at 6:01:51 PM | Linked Model Showing In 3D View Only

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


If your elevation doesn't intersect the linked model then you still will not see it.  Your elevation may even be looking away from the linked model.  The linked model's floor elevation of 0,0 has nothing to do with your floor elevation of 0,0.  This kind of problem may be hard for you to ferret out but here is a way to see where the element is vertically:

  1. Open the 3D view where you see the model
  2. Along the bottom of the screen , find the house icon with the lock and click on it.  (This locks the view)
  3. Name it
  4. Now from the annotation tab, pick spot elevation from the dimension tab
  5. pick the bottom of a wall ( I am assuming your tag is set to relative - current level - if not then come back)
  6. What elevation is it.  Typically the base of the wall would be first floor - thus 0'-0"

If it's not 0-0 then it will show you where it is vertically.

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 5, 2014 at 6:11:42 PM | Linked Model Showing In 3D View Only

#6

TerribleTim


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 18, 2010
23 Posts
No Rating


WWHub - Bingo! We have winner! 8-)

That's a pretty sweet trick that I did not know! Thank you. Apparently the linked model was 9'-10" above my plan view. It threw me off because when I opened the linked model, "Finished Floor" was set to 0'-0". And you were correct, my elevaton view I tried to create was looking away from the building. Doh!

I knew you guys could help me out, huge thanks again! 8-)


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wall openings not showing in linked model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 15, 2018 at 7:07:06 PM

3

Linked model view setting not working

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 10, 2013 at 7:17:23 PM

1

Linked Model View Range Issue

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 17, 2014 at 8:59:53 PM

2

Linked model reference lines showing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 10, 2012 at 3:28:59 PM

2

Linked Model Visability

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 8, 2010 at 5:35:21 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1690621

Objects:

22215

Forum Posts:

151746

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1634

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights