RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

357 Users Online (176 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit 2014 - Splittling Walls Horizontally

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jun 27, 2014 at 3:49:25 PM | Revit 2014 - Splittling Walls Horizontally

#1

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


I have a full building model from an architect, that I am using for my purposes with prefab wall panels.  Well in order for my app to work i have to actually need to split the walls at each level.  If i created the model myself I would have done so from the get go but since i got this from an outside source this is not the case.  I have walls from First Floor to Roof level with 5 floors inbetween.  I know I can split walls in sections, and in 3D working views.  I did it on a level so far. But I am wondering if there is a more global way to do this... almost globally per level regardless of wall type.  Some issues with approaches I have considered are as follows.  If you just change level 1 walls which end at the roof level now to end at level 2 and just copy that single floor wall on the upper floor to floor you loose all of the windows, doors, dimensions, and anything assoaciated to the walls etc. on the levels being temporaryily removed and replaced.  I also considered copying walls on top of one another and changing the constraints that way, but it could get pretty messy.  Am I stuck with manual splits on a wall to wall basis or is there some kind of global wall splits that I dream about?

I am open to suggestions as I feel it is some work to have to find all 100 walls or so and manually split them at each level through sections and 3d working views.


-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 27, 2014 at 3:53:25 PM | Revit 2014 - Splittling Walls Horizontally

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Manually is really the only way that you are going to be able to do this "easily".  What is the reason you need to split them, maybe you can use a different process.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jun 27, 2014 at 3:55:20 PM | Revit 2014 - Splittling Walls Horizontally

#3

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


i am open to a diff process, but my wall panel app really needs the walls to stop floor to floor for it to perform correctly.

right now I am currently using a section, getting all the walls split and then moving the section down the line untill I hit each wall and split them 5 times each.......

some I do in 3D but its too much visually to get each one consistently.


-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 27, 2014 at 6:51:21 PM | Revit 2014 - Splittling Walls Horizontally

#4

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Your "app" is this a program you are exporting too? The way you are doing it is the only way you are going to be able to do it in Revit and make sure you get all the walls correct.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jun 27, 2014 at 7:00:10 PM | Revit 2014 - Splittling Walls Horizontally

#5

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


ok, yeah maybe some outside of the box thinking but...I am starting to believe there may not even be a work around.

 

I am doing section views, and hitting the one wall 5 times so I don't have to come back again with more section views. I plan on moving this  section to do the next walls etc.


-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 27, 2014 at 7:06:26 PM | Revit 2014 - Splittling Walls Horizontally

#6

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


I still don't understand why you need to break them up.. what is the "app" you keep mentioning?


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

moving walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 7, 2013 at 1:54:03 AM

2

Pinned walls in 2014 can't UnPIN Walls

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 15, 2014 at 8:33:17 PM

6

horizontally mounted duplex receptacles

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 22, 2010 at 2:02:04 PM

4

importing CAD files into REVIT 2014 (why the walls aren't showing up)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 30, 2014 at 9:05:33 PM

3

Material Stretched Horizontally

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 24, 2015 at 4:45:13 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1651239

Objects:

22098

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.9404

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights