RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

271 Users Online (110 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> One family parameter has formula one has none

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 3:26:07 PM | One family parameter has formula one has none

#1

TimothyLiv


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 24, 2011
12 Posts
No Rating


Can I have a formula driven value in one family's parameter and then swap that family to another similar family with the same parameter but without the restrictions from the formula? Basically, I would like to pre-calculate intervals based on height but then have the freedom to swap families at the project level and the pre-calculated values would pass to the new family as values and not formula. Kinda like, Paste Special -> Values... Thank you, Timothy Livingston


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 3:29:04 PM | One family parameter has formula one has none

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


For questions like this....gee - why don't you try it?  Seems like it would teach you better and is so easy to do.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 4:09:40 PM | One family parameter has formula one has none

#3

TimothyLiv


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 24, 2011
12 Posts
No Rating


And for answers like this....Sad

I have tried it thanks.

When I try to swap the formula driven family parameter, with the un-driven family parameter, the undriven values keep reverting back to the values in the family editor.

Always a pleasure reading your knee-jerk posts WW.

 

Thanks,

Timothy Livingston

 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 4:21:14 PM | One family parameter has formula one has none

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


I think my suggestion was pretty good.  You answered it for all of us - thank you.

See how easy that was?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 4:26:04 PM | One family parameter has formula one has none

#5

TimothyLiv


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 24, 2011
12 Posts
No Rating


If you don't have an answer or suggestion, don't reply.

Thanks,

Timothy Livingston

 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 4:36:57 PM | One family parameter has formula one has none

#6

TimothyLiv


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 24, 2011
12 Posts
No Rating


If you don't have an answer or suggestion, don't reply.

Thanks,

Timothy Livingston

 


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 4:46:03 PM | One family parameter has formula one has none

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


You really can't offend me because I just don't care what you think.  I don't have time to deal with people that want others to do their work.  There is a word for that but I didn't use it.  I admire users that try an idea and come with a good question when they are stumped.  People that do that are creative and responsible.   You didn't do that.

 

If you had truely tried the process ahead of time then your follow up should have been your original question.  But I doubt that you had.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 6:05:54 PM | One family parameter has formula one has none

#8

TimothyLiv


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 24, 2011
12 Posts
No Rating


Of course I have tried it!!

I have only use this forum in emergencies, knowing I would get some effed up response from WW.

My question is looking for tips or known limitations, best proactices, etc.

Should I be using a reporting parameter? Use a type family approach?

 

Things that could lead me in the right direction. Can you please stop responding to my posts all together?

I would like to hear what OTHER people say.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Referencing a Shared Parameter in a Family parameter formula.

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Jan 29, 2015 at 7:26:24 PM

4

formula using <Family type> parameter

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 1, 2010 at 3:01:58 PM

1

<Family Type> parameter can't be controlled by formula. What else can we do? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 27, 2013 at 8:53:53 AM

29

Parameter Formula

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 5, 2010 at 6:09:09 PM

6

Parameter names with dashes - problem with formula

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 31, 2010 at 3:28:39 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1689695

Objects:

22214

Forum Posts:

151745

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.6547

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights