RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

190 Users Online (68 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Monitoring Non-Copied Structural Elements

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 2:47:22 PM | Monitoring Non-Copied Structural Elements

#1

mignut


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 19, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Hello,

I have a question concerning the monitoring of structural elements. The approach taken for my project is that certain structural elements, like the columns and structural floors, will belong only to structural and will not be copied in the architectural model. We will leave the structural model linked in at all times so that these elements become part of our model.

My question: should I/can I monitor these items without having corresponding elements in my model? I see how to monitor a structural column when I have an architectural column in its place in the architectural model, but what if I do not have a column at all and just want to be alerted when these structural items are modified?

Thank you!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 2:54:37 PM | Monitoring Non-Copied Structural Elements

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


 

I think you will still have to copy them but be creative in your though process. Simply place these in a workset that is normally off in all views.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 3:07:19 PM | Monitoring Non-Copied Structural Elements

#3

mignut


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 19, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I thought that the point of keeping the structural file linked in was to avoid unecessary duplication?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 25, 2014 at 3:27:34 PM | Monitoring Non-Copied Structural Elements

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


Why ask your question?   I'm not here to argue about what YOU want!

I gave you a solution that lets you see / be notified of structural column changes and the column in your model will not be a significant increase in project size.

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Change a copied lever to an original level

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 19, 2010 at 4:26:41 PM

2

Structural elements are disjoined

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 8, 2005 at 11:17:37 PM

1

Replacing Structural Elements in Arch Model with Revit Structure elements

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Dec 4, 2011 at 10:06:34 AM

0

Copy/Monitor Deleted Element Revit 2011

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Aug 14, 2011 at 11:09:41 PM

0

crash when edit structural elements Revit 2015

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 18, 2014 at 6:24:45 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1454831

Objects:

20598

Forum Posts:

150689

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3498

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights