RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

57 Users Online (56 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Objects/Components render GREY?! :(

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Jun 22, 2014 at 8:39:45 PM | Objects/Components render GREY?! :(

#1

tojonegi


active

Joined: Sun, May 25, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Okay, SO Im very new to the revit, and started learning it one and a half month ago. I know, this quuestion might have asked before and I even searched the forums but couldnt find the answer. 

Whenever Im importing certain componenet, Architecture > Component > Load Family, they do not render in the colors they're supposed to, but GREY! 

This is happening only with the few componenets, rest work fine. I checked the Type properties, no options there to change the material. I know sometimes the materials of the component can only be changed by going to the Manage > Materials, and then selected the specified material for that abject and changing it from there. But I even checked the materials, and there's none for that object name. 

Im using Revit Architecture 2014. 

Link to the downloaded component, its a patio table : http://www.revitcity.com/downloads.php?action=view&object_id=6207

I've also attached the screenshot of the render Smile 

Please someone reply, its upsetting to not being able to finish my job at the last step because of this grey color after all this hard work Sad

 

Thankyou Smile



Attached Images

132265_3D_View_3.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 7:13:04 AM | Objects/Components render GREY?! :(

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


You must not have searched very far because this issue has been discussed many - many times. 

THE PROJECT RULES

No matter what the material settings are in a family, if that material already resides in the project, then the project settings over-ride the family settings.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 9:06:18 AM | Objects/Components render GREY?! :(

#3

tojonegi


active

Joined: Sun, May 25, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I know it has been asked many times, I even came across a thread where an answer was that this question has been asked many times :| But that doesnt solve my problem. Sorry Sad

Anyway, "No matter what the material settings are in a family, if that material already resides in the project, then the project settings over-ride the family settings."

What does that mean exactly? Can you dumb it down for me? And whats the work around? How to solve this problem? 

Pls reply Smile 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 9:40:21 AM | Objects/Components render GREY?! :(

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


I don't know how much better I can describe it.

If RED BRICK (color is set in the project to orange) is already in the project and you load a new family with a material called RED BRICK and in the family the brick is red, when loaded into the project, it will now be orange. 

 

TO FIX:  Change the appropriate material in the project.  NOTE - ALL items using this named material will also change.  Is that what you want?

Alternate, open the family and change the material to a unique name (Like REALY RED BRICK) that is not in the project.  Reload the family and the item will be as set in the family.  BUT NOW THIS MATERIAL IS IN THE PROJECT!!! So any changes made in the family will not now change in the project.

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 10:14:50 AM | Objects/Components render GREY?! :(

#5

tojonegi


active

Joined: Sun, May 25, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I did exactly as you said. I deleted the component from the project. Opened it as a family and from there renamed the materials (originally it was tspwood and so on, I renamed it to patiotabletspwood) then I loaded it into the project. Then I went to materials and checked if everything is okay. And both of the materials were there (refere to the attached image). But its STILL RENDERING GREY Sad 

Please help! 

 

 



Attached Images

132291_material_info.JPG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 10:24:34 AM | Objects/Components render GREY?! :(

#6

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4 Stars: 47 Votes


Take a screen shot of your material browser in your PROJECT so we can see what you have under the appearance tab


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 10:30:37 AM | Objects/Components render GREY?! :(

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


It sounds like the objects in the family may be set to default rather than a specific material.  Just because the material exists in the family doesn't mean it is used.

 

BTW - you will have to delete all of the families from the project, including from the browser then delete the material from the project if you want to reload a new material by way of loading a family.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 12:28:39 PM | Objects/Components render GREY?! :(

#8

tojonegi


active

Joined: Sun, May 25, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Okay, so how do I make those materials be USED or applied in the family?

I did what you said. Deleted the component form the project. Purged the unused. Deleted those materials from the project material library. Then loaded the compnent again. And now even the umbrella is NOT rendering white, which it was earlier :/ Now the WHOLE OBJECT IS GREY Sad 

Attached the screenshot of the material appearance. .

HELP!



Attached Images

132297_Capture_1.JPG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 12:40:15 PM | Objects/Components render GREY?! :(

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


As I said... this may be a family issue.  Post the family.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 1:04:25 PM | Objects/Components render GREY?! :(

#10

tojonegi


active

Joined: Sun, May 25, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


here Smile 



This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 2:22:22 PM | Objects/Components render GREY?! :(

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


Now we see the problem.  This is a CAD import into a Revit family.  Materials for CAD imports are controlled by CAD layer assignments.  EVERYTING in this CAD import is set to layer 0.  So every item will be the same color as assigned to layer 0.

 

I changed your layer 0 to green in the project.  The umbrella is a nested block and it will not respond.  I suggest you edit the CAD to place these items on seperate layers.



Attached Images

132306_Capture.JPG

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Grey items!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jul 11, 2010 at 7:48:51 AM

3

Components on Level are Grey

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 17, 2013 at 12:56:06 PM

9

White ceiling paint (and other white objects) Rendering "GREY"

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Sep 27, 2006 at 11:52:47 PM

5

Missing objects in my render

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 2, 2011 at 9:34:44 AM

4

Will not render objects completely??

Community >> Newbies

Sun, Jun 28, 2009 at 9:21:32 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

2012065

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152207

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5879

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights