RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

195 Users Online (85 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 2:37:57 PM | Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

#1

cyoung603


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 16, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I am trying to create a flat rectangular toposurface, very simple I know, but for some reason when I place the fourth point the surface splits into two parts.. Any ideas on how to correct this?



Attached Images

131844_topo.PNG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 2:42:42 PM | Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Are all of your points at the same elevation?


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 2:43:17 PM | Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


You have not told us enough about your process or the problem.

Are you sure the surface splits or is that a topo line?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 3:06:04 PM | Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

#4

cyoung603


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 16, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


All points are set at the default 0.0m. There shouldn't be any topo lines because it is a flat surface with all points set at 0.0m. Normally the fourth point would just extend the toposurface, but now it creates the square toposurface and created this random split


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 3:08:14 PM | Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

#5

cyoung603


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 16, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


On the left is a new revit file, I have done the same process as the created toposurface on the right



Attached Images

131850_top.PNG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 3:08:48 PM | Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Sorry but we don't think you did what you say.

Click on the edge of the topo, pick edit surface, then window it and post the image of the properties like I have.



Attached Images

131851_Capture.JPG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 3:12:12 PM | Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

#7

cyoung603


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 16, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating




Attached Images

131852_top.PNG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 3:22:08 PM | Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

#8

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Does the line stay there when you finish the sketch?


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 3:23:09 PM | Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


That is strange.   How do you only have one decimal place on your elevation properties?  I always have three decimal places on metric or feet settings.  Could it be that a point is at a different non-rounded elevation?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 3:40:02 PM | Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

#10

cyoung603


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 16, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


The line does stay after the sketch is finished.

The reason there's only one decimal place is because the 'rounding' under project units is set to '1 decimal place'. I wasn't the one who originally created the file, maybe a point is at a different non-rounded elevation, how could I check for this? 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 4:00:54 PM | Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Window select all your points and in the propertise, replace that 0.0 with 0.00 and see what happens. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 4, 2014 at 4:10:06 PM | Simple Rectangular Toposurface Dividing Automatically... (Revit Arch 2014)

#12

cyoung603


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 16, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Still nothing. The Revit tech at my company just came in so i'll see what he can do to help. Thanks Teafoe5 and WWHub.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Room Plans, Non Rectangular viewports from Revit 2014 and Python Shell

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, May 23, 2013 at 7:28:19 PM

1

Problem with a rectangular section on a adaptive arch

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 19, 2013 at 7:05:22 AM

0

Rectangular Flex Duct

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 21, 2014 at 8:45:16 PM

2

Toposurface in Elevations

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 27, 2009 at 6:51:06 AM

4

Problem with a rectangular section on an adaptive arch

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 16, 2013 at 1:50:32 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1771877

Objects:

22438

Forum Posts:

151918

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.9295

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights