RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

66 Users Online (65 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Railings and Stairs

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, May 16, 2014 at 12:08:33 PM | Railings and Stairs

#1

SBme


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 7, 2010
13 Posts
No Rating


I am trying to build a two-run stair. The default stair has a railing going all around the landing. Regardless of the application, there is no need to extend the handrail around the landing - guardrail yes, but not handrail. I have been trying to figure out a way to accomplish this, and that's where I'm running into problems.

- If I try to split the railing, it doesn't work as it's still all only 1 railing type.

- If I try o trim the railing, I can't get the new railing to host to the stair (I can't select the stair to tell it to host).

- If I try to sketch a freestanding railing outside of the stair, I can't host it to the stair, so it becomes a dumb object (very un-Revit like). And that's not talking about having to figure out to do the sloped railing on the second leg of the stair.

 

So, did I miss the proper option? So far all the searches that I've done resulted in nothing usefull. It's as if this is not a problem. Am I the only one?

 

Thanks for your help


-----------------------------------

System: Revit 2014 (update release 2) on Quad-Core Thinkpad w/ 64-bit Win7 & 8Gb Ram.

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 16, 2014 at 12:12:16 PM | Railings and Stairs

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


  1. Edit the railing family
  2. Copy the entire sketch to clipboard
  3. Now delete all of the sketch except your first run
  4. Finish that railing
  5. Copy that railing in the same place
  6. Now edit this railing
  7. Delete the sketched line, paste in your copy/clipped sketch
  8. Delete all of the sketch except your second run.
  9. Finish.

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 16, 2014 at 12:44:48 PM | Railings and Stairs

#3

SBme


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 7, 2010
13 Posts
No Rating


That worked, thanks. Rather convoluted way of solving something that should be very simple. Then again, at least we have sketchy lines in 2015... :/


-----------------------------------

System: Revit 2014 (update release 2) on Quad-Core Thinkpad w/ 64-bit Win7 & 8Gb Ram.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

My railings doesn't go with my stairs

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 11:45:03 AM

14

Problems attaching railings to stairs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 10:49:14 AM

4

Attaching railings to stairs?

Community >> The Studio

Wed, May 24, 2006 at 1:48:05 AM

2

Railings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 31, 2005 at 6:23:30 PM

2

Detailing/dimensioning stairs and railings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 16, 2007 at 2:14:13 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

2012051

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152207

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3715

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights