RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

40 Users Online (39 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Scaling Family or component- similar to scaling jpeg

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, May 12, 2014 at 11:19:16 AM | Scaling Family or component- similar to scaling jpeg

#1

HKicsak


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 13, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


We create marketing plans for shopping centers showing proposed tenants by having their logos in the space. Currently in CAD these are blocks (created from polylines & hatch patterns traced over the jpeg logo). Switching to Revit our plan was to use .png files which we can scale to fit the space (anywhere from 2,000 SF to 200,000 SF). This also cuts down on drafting hours by eliminating the need to trace the logos.

However, we've been advised that this may not be the best method to use when considering file size and optimization. (This is the opinion of an outside consultant firm)

Considering that we need to be able to scale the logo and have up to 300 logos in one file, does anyone have any suggestions? Any help is appreciated!


-----------------------------------

Using Revit2014, dragging the rest of the company with me from AutoCAD2008. When will the whining stop?

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 12, 2014 at 12:11:24 PM | Scaling Family or component- similar to scaling jpeg

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


You do know that you can scale hatch regions by scaling the sketch?


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 12, 2014 at 12:19:19 PM | Scaling Family or component- similar to scaling jpeg

#3

HKicsak


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 13, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


Yes, but that would require opening the family, editing the hatch, scaling the sketch and then backing out of everything. As well as hoping that we got the scale correct to only do this once. That process seems like it would only add onto the time it takes for marketing plans when we're hoping to streamline the overall process.


-----------------------------------

Using Revit2014, dragging the rest of the company with me from AutoCAD2008. When will the whining stop?

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 12, 2014 at 1:35:43 PM | Scaling Family or component- similar to scaling jpeg

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


Why not just use the jpg logo?  Put them in seperate worksets that are turned on only when needed.


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 12, 2014 at 1:57:04 PM | Scaling Family or component- similar to scaling jpeg

#5

HKicsak


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 13, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


I had not considered worksets. I'll have to give that a try. Thank you!


-----------------------------------

Using Revit2014, dragging the rest of the company with me from AutoCAD2008. When will the whining stop?

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 12, 2014 at 2:17:46 PM | Scaling Family or component- similar to scaling jpeg

#6

archigrafix


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 5, 2013
38 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


And do you plan to export some drawings with those raster logos to DWG? I try to avoid raster images in revit...


-----------------------------------

Marc Faber

BIM Solutions Developer

goto.archi | Oslo, Norway

 

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, May 12, 2014 at 2:37:53 PM | Scaling Family or component- similar to scaling jpeg

#7

HKicsak


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 13, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


 Traditionally we only print to PDF for the marketing plans.

We do have some situations now where we would export to dwg and only leave the anchor store logos (5 logos tops). I can see where that would be a problem, but since we already have the logos created in CAD blocks we could take the extra step and insert them in AutoCAD. We are also considering not showing the logos on exported drawings anymore, just text.


-----------------------------------

Using Revit2014, dragging the rest of the company with me from AutoCAD2008. When will the whining stop?

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 12, 2014 at 2:44:09 PM | Scaling Family or component- similar to scaling jpeg

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


We have exported to CAD with images.   You just have to open the CAD and remap the image.  A little bit of a pain if you don't do it very often.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Family Scaling

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 6, 2016 at 10:44:39 AM

4

HELP! Import a PDF?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 28, 2006 at 4:34:26 PM

1

Annotation scaling within Familes

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Sep 24, 2012 at 7:17:25 AM

3

Scaling dwg's in families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 16, 2009 at 10:37:41 AM

3

Scaling furniture

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 27, 2010 at 8:16:59 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1963649

Objects:

22848

Forum Posts:

152159

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 5.9342

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights