RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

203 Users Online (56 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Seat count in bench family

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Apr 24, 2014 at 9:20:32 PM | Seat count in bench family

#1

Pdoak


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 22, 2010
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi, I've created a simple bench for stadium type seating. My intention is to have the following:

a) Have a user-defined seat width (or lineal length of bench per person)

b) be able to stretch a grip and have the bench length adjust to the nearest seat width

c) be able to schedule the benches in the project to get a total Lineal Feet of bench and total Seat Count

So far I have been able to achieve half of this. I have built in a parameter for user defined seat width. I have been able to use a user input for desired length and it adjusts to the nearest seat width defined (it's supposed to be able to stretch, but when I stretch it the family implodes for some reason...). What I have not been able to figure out is:

a) how to fix the stretching feature

b) be able to have some way to schedule the lineal feet and seat count.

The length and seat count is not a major deal, however, since the stadium seating is symetrical, so I really only have to figure half of it. Using a spreadsheet it only takes a little while to figure the total length, which I can then break down into a total seat count, but it would be great to be able to fix the family and share it here for others to use.

Can anyone take a look and let me know what I've done wrong, or generally explain how I could achieve this?

Thanks!!!

-Phil-



This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 25, 2014 at 2:56:39 PM | Seat count in bench family

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Are you using a line based family with a nested seat family?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 25, 2014 at 5:12:13 PM | Seat count in bench family

#3

Pdoak


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 22, 2010
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


No, I believe I have it as a floor based. Never thought of using a line based though... I assume that's where you would suggest starting over Smile ?


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 25, 2014 at 6:14:43 PM | Seat count in bench family

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Actually a floor based should still work.  But I probably would use a line based family.  Then it could be straight or curved.  There are several youtube videos on creating and using line based families.  In addition to those, check out this thread on AUGI.  I think this guy used a curtain wall <<< I never would have. http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Revit-Architecture/stadium-seating/td-p/4613003

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 29, 2014 at 3:36:15 PM | Seat count in bench family

#5

Pdoak


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 22, 2010
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


That's definitely an interesting way to go about it! I finally got mine to work, aside from the fact that you cannot create a bench with fewer than 3 seats/spaces. My draging trouble I think was due to too many reference planes being "strong, left or right" references. Once I eliminated all but the side opposite the origin it worked. Being able to schedule the seat count ended up being because I did not have the settings correct in the shared parameters in both the family and project. I am now able to place, drag, (far as I know) adjust dimensional characteristics and schedule (calculating: total # of seats, total LF length, total count of same length benches). Now I just need to get it to where I can rotate using the space bar before placing, and then maybe add a mirror/flip feature, also being able to mitre the end would be nice. Attached is the updated file. I also plan to have a little better bracket that's more realistic, but maybe this way people can edit the bracket themselves as desired to fit whatever manufacturer they're using.

Maybe next I will try this as a line based family. Thanks!



This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Sweap bench around line

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 8, 2013 at 2:35:01 PM

2

Can't amend family size in model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 19, 2012 at 2:19:56 PM

4

Locker/bench combo for 9+

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Mon, Mar 10, 2008 at 8:01:40 PM

1

Repeat Object Within Family/Type

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 1, 2008 at 3:40:17 PM

4

Nested Family Count in Table

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 15, 2018 at 5:47:52 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1653741

Objects:

22109

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8420

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights