RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

162 Users Online (77 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Template Version

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 5:08:45 PM | Template Version

#1

ChrisBryant


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 31, 2012
4 Posts
No Rating


My company has started to have a discussion about what year we want our template to be in. It is currently in 2011, but all of our newer families are being created in 2013 or later, so it seems like a good idea to keep the template in the current year to allow any newly made families to be added immediently. On the other hand, I am worried that we'll get a project in an older version, and won't have a good template to work with for that project.

Does anyone have any experience with upgrading the template/not upgrading the template? 

Thanks in Advance!


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 5:12:02 PM | Template Version

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


Why not just have 1 template for every Revit version you use?  We go back to 2013, we have templates for 2013, 2014 and 2015.. all of our families are created in 2013 so that they can continue to be used as we still have some projects where it is needed to use 2013 for clients. Anything created in 2014 or newer cannot be used in 2013.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 5:58:41 PM | Template Version

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


We maintain multiple libraries, one for each release.  We upgrade our template and all of OUR FAMILIES for each release and save it in the appropriate library.  But there are some issues with our practice.

  1. Upgraded family parameters - You need to pay attention to this because they do/have changed.  Using old families may not get you the full benefit.  Currently, most of these parameter changes are MEP.
  2. Some system families have changed.  Railings changed from 2011 to 2013/14 with the new top rail.  You want to be able to use the new system families because your old railings will not take advantage of the seperate handrail.
  3. Any families in the upgraded template will still point back to your old library.  If you edit a family from a prject, it will want to save in the old library location.  We currently have families going back to at least 2008.... but we don't let users write to our libraries.  Our BIM managers are the only ones that can do this.  I think we need to reload from the current library but that is a lot of work to do with each update.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 6:08:19 PM | Template Version

#4

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


WWHub how are you acheiving this "but we don't let users write to our libraries" is it just verbal or do you have a dedicated drive on your server you have "locked" from certain users


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 6:38:31 PM | Template Version

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Our library folders have window permissions set for groups.  All groups can read but only some groups can write.  So everybody can load a family but they can't save edited changes.  If it is a valuable change, they have to send it to me for evaluation and I can save it.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 6:45:10 PM | Template Version

#6

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 45 Votes


 "If it is a valuable change, they have to send it to me for evaluation and I can save it" I've been trying to get my office to do this, it's been like pulling teeth for some reason.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 6:50:19 PM | Template Version

#7

ChrisBryant


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 31, 2012
4 Posts
No Rating


I am reluctant to maintain multiple templates - We're a small firm (structural only) with just 6 Revit Users (hoping to get up to 9 by the end of the Summer). 

I'm learning towards just maintain one template, but having keeping the old versions (along with Archived Families) around.

 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 22, 2014 at 7:02:58 PM | Template Version

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


You need multiple versions because you don't want to upgrade projects late in the process.

 

Seperate templates is not a problem to coordinate.  Our users don't pick what template from where.  Our libraries are all independent and the revir pointers for each release point to the correct library... such as:

\\Revit

          \Revit 2013

                          \Added Resources

                          \Family Templates  <<2013 Family creation pointer

                          \Libraries

                                        \Imperial Library  << 2013 Family pointer

                                        \Metric Library

                           \Project Templates  << 2013 Project template pointer to file in this directory

          \Revit 2014

                          \Added Resources

                          \Family Templates <<2014 Family creation pointer

                          \Libraries

                                        \Imperial Library << 2014 Family pointer

                                        \Metric Library

                          \Project Templates  << 2014 Project template pointer to file in this directory


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Underlay using construction template on 2012 version

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 28, 2013 at 7:07:12 PM

3

How do I update my template?

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Oct 17, 2005 at 4:18:38 AM

0

Revit 2009 Crashing In View Template Creation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 25, 2011 at 4:45:51 PM

3

save new template from project

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 22, 2006 at 1:16:15 AM

3

How to upgrade the templates for the newer version?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Jul 25, 2011 at 3:50:11 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1551115

Objects:

21383

Forum Posts:

151400

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2742

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights