RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

192 Users Online (42 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Align command in concrete curb family - Revit 2014

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 5:01:34 PM | Align command in concrete curb family - Revit 2014

#1

GREMMELS


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 16, 2013
3 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I am working on a curb family that typically would be used along the walls of a warehouse to keep trucks and fork lifts from running through walls.  See Detail Sketch attached.  

The family where it runs into doors along a wall needs to remain 1' off of the hinge side of the door and 1'6" off the swing side of the door.

Currently the family that I have created allows me to align the end point of the curb to the edge of a wall opening by stretching the family and leaving the opposite end point at its original location.  This works great for the instances when I am aligning to the corner of the wall and I have two curbs meeting. But in order to get the 1' and 1'6" offset at door opening I have to drag the corner of the curb and leave it off the edge of the wall opening, then dimension it and move it again until I get the dimension I want.

What I am trying to get this family to do is allow me to align the curb based on separate reference planes established in the family (which would represent the 1' and 1'6" offset) while stretching the family just like it would when aligning to the corner of the family.  Currently when I align based on the reference planes it moves the entire family rather than stretching it.



This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 5:17:24 PM | Align command in concrete curb family - Revit 2014

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


Change the reference plane on the movable end to a strong reference - then it will show for temporary dimensions - placement.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 5:27:57 PM | Align command in concrete curb family - Revit 2014

#3

GREMMELS


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 16, 2013
3 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Not sure what you mean by the movable end.  

Just to be clear, I currently have 6 reference planes drawn in the family, no matter which reference plane I select to align I want them all to stretch rather than move the family in place.  I have tried multiple combinations of ways to assigning strong vs weak reference, all of them give me the same result.  In the family I posted I also tried creating extra void extrusions in between these extra reference planes thinking it might need some sort of geometry to snap to.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 5:30:59 PM | Align command in concrete curb family - Revit 2014

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


Why don't you at least try it!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 5:32:13 PM | Align command in concrete curb family - Revit 2014

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


Read this topic in your HELP:

Reference Plane Properties

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 5:52:17 PM | Align command in concrete curb family - Revit 2014

#6

GREMMELS


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 16, 2013
3 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Because I don't know what you mean! And yes, I did try it anyway. What movable end are you referring to? I have 6.

i have tried all weak reference, all strong reference, the defines origin plane as the only strong reference, the two inner reference planes as strong ref with everything else weak ref, and the two outer ref planes as strong ref with everything else weak ref planes.  All of these changes made the family act the exact same way in my project.

When I align based on the two inner reference planes that run through the corner of each curb the family stretches like I want it to. However, when I do the same thing to the other reference planes that have the same values they don't stretch.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 6:05:09 PM | Align command in concrete curb family - Revit 2014

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


I don't see any reason for the other voids and the other reference planes that define them.  If you have a reason for them explain it.  Otherwise get rid of them as I did.

 

From YOUR HELP: "Is Reference Specifies whether a reference plane, sketched during the creation of a family, is a reference in a project. This means that you can dimension to the family or align to it. If you set a reference plane as a reference for all family types, then you can consistently dimension to that family type when you place it in your project.

 



Attached Images

130668_Capture.PNG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 6:54:13 PM | Align command in concrete curb family - Revit 2014

#8

GREMMELS


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 16, 2013
3 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


When you input a number into the temp dimension does it move the family or stretch the family?  Please post your family so i can better understand.  Mine moves the family and yes I have the grip arrows just like you do. 

The reason for the extra reference planes was that it is much easier to align something than it is to change the dimension.  If that is not possible so be it.  But in order to align something those reference planes have to be there.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 7:04:07 PM | Align command in concrete curb family - Revit 2014

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


It moves the family but you can edit your family length in the properties at the same time! So what's the issue?

Remember, your family uses one end as the placement end and the other end is free. 

 

Sorry - I discarded my test project and family.  Do some expeirments on your own.  A little bit of time on your end will teach you more about this process.  BTW - an invisible line in the family works as an alignment tool too.

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Lifting up building for curb

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Dec 30, 2007 at 7:21:28 PM

2

Concrete Beam Family with a Haunch

Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, Sep 1, 2010 at 8:03:15 PM

1

Copy during Align command?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 5, 2007 at 10:05:22 PM

3

Line Based Curb family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 8, 2007 at 4:02:28 PM

0

Revit wont align siding

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 2, 2011 at 2:46:33 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1706605

Objects:

22264

Forum Posts:

151786

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.9326

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights