RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

254 Users Online (104 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Memory Issue? Elevation view from view cube

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 4:47:16 PM | Memory Issue? Elevation view from view cube

#1

jmd3d


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 30, 2013
3 Posts
No Rating


When modeling in the 3d view I can normally use the view cube to allign the model in elevation views but not at all times.  The cube will not respond by clicking "right" "left" "top".  It seems like a memory issue but it happens at random times so I am not sure.     

Revit LT 2014 (16g ram)


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 5:23:05 PM | Memory Issue? Elevation view from view cube

#2

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 44 Votes


I have never seen/heard of this problem before.. is the view locked? Can you still rotate in 3d NOT using the view cube?



Edited on: Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 12:23:29 PM

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 5:36:48 PM | Memory Issue? Elevation view from view cube

#3

jmd3d


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 30, 2013
3 Posts
No Rating


The view is not locked and I can still rotate the view.  It seems to happen when I allight the view too many times in a short period of time.  When the issue occurs, the cursor flickers and is unresponsive when placed over the view cube.  It is not a major issue but I like the ease of modeling as much as I can in the 3d view without having to switch views.  


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 5:41:58 PM | Memory Issue? Elevation view from view cube

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


teafoe failed to ask - what year revit?  What updates do you have installed?

 

This has become a very big issue in answering questions and solving problems.  You MUST be up to date on the issue you are using!

 

I do see 2014LT but nothing about updates.



Edited on: Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 12:43:24 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 5:50:17 PM | Memory Issue? Elevation view from view cube

#5

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 44 Votes


Yup my bad.. usually the best place to start looking for errors like this.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 6:09:42 PM | Memory Issue? Elevation view from view cube

#6

jmd3d


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 30, 2013
3 Posts
No Rating


I  am currently running 20131024_2115(x64)Update Release 2  which I believe is the most current.  I cant find any more updates except 2015.  This has been an ongoing problem since I began working in Revit LT 2014 about 9 months ago.  I have used 2 diffenent computers, on with 8g of ram and now one with 16g.  Switching to the new computer I downloaded the program fresh and updated.    The problem occurs less with the 16g.  I make sure to close hidden views and files frequently.  When the issue occurs in a project, the same issue will occur in a family even if the family is as simple as possible.  Restarting the program solves the issue until it occurs again.  

 

  


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 6:14:45 PM | Memory Issue? Elevation view from view cube

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


In years past, we talked about Revit's memory leak.   It sounds like that issue may still exist.  We had always promoted shutting down Revit at lunch and re-starting to clear the memory.  Maybe that is your answer.

 

I also advise that you close hidden windows when they are not required.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 6:20:29 PM | Memory Issue? Elevation view from view cube

#8

jmd3d


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 30, 2013
3 Posts
No Rating


Ill restart more often.  thanks for the replys.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 16, 2014 at 6:44:37 PM | Memory Issue? Elevation view from view cube

#9

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4.5 Stars: 44 Votes


I believe 2013 had 3 updates.. you may want to make sure you have the most current release.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Mar 8, 2016 at 9:16:45 PM | Memory Issue? Elevation view from view cube

#10

jmd3d


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 30, 2013
3 Posts
No Rating


A fix to the issue is right clicking on the view cube and selecting "Go Home".  This allows the view cube to reset if it is unresponsive.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

view cube in wrong position

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Jan 30, 2015 at 4:28:20 PM

2

Iso view angle

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 6, 2012 at 9:27:41 PM

10

Hiding View Name in Elevation View Tags

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sat, Jan 22, 2011 at 12:47:39 AM

9

rendering elevations to scale

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 16, 2013 at 1:01:42 PM

1

Out of Memory

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 29, 2019 at 9:10:05 PM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1491644

Objects:

21156

Forum Posts:

151137

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9735

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights